Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Field set for 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning
The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, and four will end up in Tampa Bay to claim the title!

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The four regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four, taking place in Tampa Bay, and the entire championship uses a single-elimination format.

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of five conferences and the remainder of the field is selected at large. Boston College in the Hockey East Association conference was the No. 1 overall seed, and other teams that received automatic qualification included Air Force in the Atlantic Hockey Association conference, Western Michigan in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association conference, Union (New York) in the ECAC Hockey conference, and North Dakota in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association conference.

The dates, sites, times and pairings of this year’s championship are as follows:

East Regional, March 23-24 at Webster Bank Arena at Harbor Yard, Bridgeport, Connecticut:

Friday, March 23, 3 p.m. (EST), ESPNU HD/ESPN3
No. 1 Union (New York) (24-7-7) vs. No. 4 Michigan State (19-15-4)

Friday, March 23, 6:30 p.m. (EST), ESPNU HD/ESPN3
No. 2 Miami (Ohio) (24-12-2) vs. No. 3 Massachusetts-Lowell (23-12-1)

Saturday, March 24, 6:30 p.m. (EST), ESPNU HD/ESPN3
East Regional Championship

East Regional Championship Midwest Regional, March 23-24 at Resch Center, Green Bay, Wisconsin:

Friday, March 23, 5:30 p.m. (EST), ESPN Syndication HD/ESPN3
No. 2 Ferris State (23-11-5) vs. No. 3 Denver (25-13-4)

Friday, March 23, 9 p.m. (EST), ESPNU HD/ESPN3
No. 1 Michigan (24-12-4) vs. No. 4 Cornell (18-8-7)

Saturday, March 24, 9 p.m. (EST), ESPNU HD/ESPN3
Midwest Regional Championship

West Regional, March 24-25 at Xcel Energy Center, Saint Paul, Minnesota:

Saturday, March 24, 1:30 p.m. (EST), ESPN Syndication HD/ESPN3 
No. 1 North Dakota (25-12-3) vs. No. 4 Western Michigan (21-13-6)

Saturday, March 24, 5 p.m. (EST), ESPN Syndication HD/ESPN3
No. 2 Minnesota (26-13-1) vs. No. 3 Boston University (23-14-1)

Sunday, March 25, 5:30 p.m. (EST), ESPNU HD/ESPN3
West Regional Championship

Northeast Regional, March 24-25 at DCU Center, Worcester, Massachusetts:

Saturday, March 24, 4 p.m. (EST), ESPNU HD/ESPN3
No. 1 Boston College (29-10-1) vs. No. 4 Air Force (21-10-7)

Saturday, March 24, 7:30 p.m. (EST), ESPN Syndication HD/ESPN3
No. 2 Minnesota Duluth (24-9-6) vs. No. 3 Maine (23-13-3)

Sunday, March 25, 8 p.m. (EST), ESPNU HD/ESPN3
Northeast Regional Championship

Men’s Frozen Four, April 5 and 7 at the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Tampa, Florida:

Thursday, April 5, 4:30, ESPNU HD/ESPN3 and 8 p.m. (EST), ESPN2 HD/ESPN3
Northeast Regional Champion vs. West Regional Champion East Regional Champion vs. Midwest Regional Champion

Saturday, April 7, 7 p.m. (EST), ESPN2 HD/ESPN3 National Championship

Tickets for the 2012 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four are on sale now. Reserved all-session tickets for both the semifinals and the championship game (three games total) are $195 and can be purchased by visiting

For more information about the championship, log on to For more information about the NCAA Frozen Four in Tampa Bay, including ticket information, visit
View More