Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Cooper voted Jack Adams Award finalist

Under Jon Cooper's leadership the Bolts claimed the first Presidents' Trophy in franchise history

by Press Release /

NEW YORK (April 26, 2019) - Craig Berube of the St. Louis Blues, Jon Cooper of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Barry Trotz of the New York Islanders are the three finalists for the 2018-19 Jack Adams Award, presented to the head coach who has "contributed the most to his team's success," the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association submitted ballots for the Jack Adams Award at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 19, during the 2019 NHL Awards™ presented by Bridgestone at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas.

Jon Cooper, Tampa Bay Lightning
Cooper guided the Lightning to 62 victories, tied for the most in NHL history with the 1995-96 Detroit Red Wings. The Lightning's 128 points (62-16-4) ranked fourth in League history, behind only the 1976-77 Montreal Canadiens (132), 1995-96 Red Wings (131) and 1977-78 Canadiens (129). The Lightning became the first team in NHL history to record at least 30 home wins (32-7-2) and 30 road wins (30-9-2) in a season; scored 325 goals, the most by any team in 23 years; and recorded a +103 goal differential, the highest by any team since 2005-06. Tampa Bay finished the season with the top power play (28.2%) and penalty kill (85.0%) units. Cooper, a Jack Adams finalist for the second time following a third-place finish in 2013-14, is vying to become the second coach in Lightning history to capture the award (John Tortorella, 2003-04).

View More