Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Art Ross race: Malkin, Stamkos, Giroux vie for trophy

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning
The NHL awards the Art Ross Trophy annually "to the player who leads the League in scoring points at the end of the regular season." During a 21-year stretch from 1981-2001, the award was dominated by Wayne Gretzky (10-time winner), Mario Lemieux (6) and Jaromir Jagr (5), one of whom captured it each season. No player has won the Art Ross more than once since, but Evgeni Malkin of the Penguins, who claimed it in 2009, has the opportunity to change that -- he's locked in a three-way battle with Claude Giroux of the Philadelphia Flyers and Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning heading down the stretch.


Evgeni Malkin (PIT) 67 45 50 95
Steven Stamkos (TBL) 74 52 35 87
Claude Giroux (PHI) 71 27 59 86
Here's an up-to-date look at the race:

Evgeni Malkin (97 points) -- The Penguins' star had a goal and an assist and extended his scoring lead to 10 points in Pittsburgh's 5-2 win against the New Jersey Devils at the Consol Energy Center on Sunday night.  Malkin and the Pens return to action on Tuesday night, when they'll host the New York Islanders.

Steven Stamkos (87 points) -- Stamkos and the Lightning were idle on Sunday. Stamkos, who leads the League with 52 goals, will be back on the ice Monday night at Philadelphia.

Claude Giroux (86 points) -- Giroux also enjoyed a day off Sunday after he and the Flyers picked up a 4-1 win against Montreal on Saturday night to assure themselves of a playoff berth. Philadelphia hosts Tampa Bay on Monday at the Wells Fargo Center.

View More