Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News


by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings

Every season, NHL Home Ice host and Hockey Hall of Famer Phil Esposito takes time to recognize the best and the brightest of Hockey by handing out his "Espo Awards."

This year's "Espo Awards" can be heard on Monday, April 13 from 3 p.m. ET to 6 p.m. ET on NHL Home Ice (XM 204, Sirius 208) and are hosted by Mike Ross and Phil Esposito.

Esposito announced the nominees for the 4th Annual Espo Awards on Wednesday on his radio show with two Kings being named nominees, Raitis Ivanans for the John Ferguson Award (Top Fighter) and Drew Doughty for the Carl Voss Trophy (Rookie of the Year).


Dick Irvin Award
(Top Radio PxP)
Rick Jeanneret (Buffalo)
Chuck Kaiton (Carolina)
Mike Lange (Pittsburgh)
Peter Maher (Calgary)
Dan Rusanowsky (San Jose)
Chris Kontos Award
(Breakout Player)
Zack Parise
Louis Eriksson
David Krejci
Scott Clemmensson
Devin Setoguchi
Donald Trump Trophy
(Executive of the Year)

Scott Howson
Doug Wilson
Peter Chiarelli
Mike Gillis
Dale Tallon
Ted Turner Award
(Top Newsmaker)
Sean Avery
Martin Brodeur
Fighting in Hockey
Tampa Bay Lightning (Koules, Barrie, Lawton, Melrose, Tocchet)
Where will Mats Sundin sign?
Bobby Orr Trophy
(D-man of the Year)
Shea Weber  
Nick Lidstrom 
Zdeno Chara  
Mike Green  
Duncan Keith  
Mickey Rooney Award
(Best Little Man)
Martin St. Louis
Brian Rafalski
Patrick Kane
Pavel Datsyuk
Michael Camalleri
Guy Lafleur Trophy
(Comeback Player of the Year)
Patrick Elias
Michael Ryder
Martin Havlat
Patrick Marleau
Simon Gagne
John Ferguson Award
(Top Fighter)
Zack Stortini
Raitis Ivanans
George Laraque
Wade Belak
Milan Lucic
The Cougar Award
(Top Player over 35)
Dwayne Roloson
Nick Lidstrom
Ray Whitney
Daniel Alfredsson
Vyacheslav Kozlov
Mark Recchi
Michel Bergeron Trophy
(Coach of the year)
Claude Julien
Brent Sutter
Barry Trotz
Andy Murray
Paul Maurice
Rodney Dangerfield Award
(No Respect)
Ray Whitney
Louis Eriksson
Brad Boyes
Mike Ribeiro
Patrick Elias
Tony Esposito Award
(Best Goalie)
Tim Thomas
Steve Mason
Mikka Kiprusoff
Evgeni Nabokov
Niklas Backstrom

Carl Voss Trophy
(Rookie of the Year)
Steve Mason
Bobby Ryan
Pekka Rinne  
Blake Wheeler
Drew Doughty

Gordie Howe Trophy
Evgeni Malkin
Alexander Ovechkin
Sidney Crosby
Zack Parise
Evgeni Nabokov

View More