Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Toffoli Named AHL’s Outstanding Rookie

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings

SPRINGFIELD, MA - The Manchester Monarchs, the primary affiliate of the Los Angeles Kings, and the American Hockey League announced today that right wing Tyler Toffoli has been named the winner of the Dudley (Red) Garrett Memorial Award as the AHL’s outstanding rookie for the 2012-13 season, as voted by AHL coaches, players and media in each of the league’s 30 member cities.

Toffoli, a second-round pick (47th overall) by the Kings in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft, has recorded 28 goals and 20 assists for 48 points in 55 games for the Monarchs this season. He leads all AHL rookies in goals and shorthanded goals (three) and owns the highest plus/minus rating among rookie forwards in the league at plus-20. A 20-year-old native of Scarborough, Ontario, Toffoli represented Manchester at the 2013 Dunkin’ Donuts AHL All-Star Classic, and was named to the AHL All-Rookie Team earlier this week. Toffoli made his National Hockey League debut on March 16, and has recorded two goals and three assists in eight NHL games with the Kings. The Monarchs are 28-22-2-3 with Toffoli in the lineup this season, 4-9-1-1 without him. Toffoli is the second Monarchs player to receive the award as forward Teddy Purcell won the award in 2007-08.

This award, which was first presented by the AHL in 1947, honors the late Dudley (Red) Garrett, a promising young player who lost his life during World War II while serving in the Royal Canadian Navy. Garrett split his only pro season, 1942-43, between the AHL’s Providence Reds and the NHL’s New York Rangers.

Previous winners of the Garrett Award include Terry Sawchuk (1949), Wally Hergesheimer (1951), Jimmy Anderson (1955), Bill Sweeney (1958), Roger Crozier (1964), Gerry Desjardins (1968), Rick Middleton (1974), Darryl Sutter (1980), Pelle Lindbergh (1981), Steve Thomas (1985), Ron Hextall (1986), Brett Hull (1987), Felix Potvin (1992), Darcy Tucker (1996), Daniel Briere (1998), Rene Bourque (2005), Brett Sterling (2007), Purcell (2008), Nathan Gerbe (2009), Tyler Ennis (2010), Luke Adam (2011) and Cory Conacher (2012).

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. Nearly 90 percent of all players competing in the NHL are AHL graduates, and through the years the American Hockey League has been home to more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame. The 2012-13 regular season ends on April 21, and then 16 clubs will continue to vie for the league’s coveted championship trophy when the 2013 Calder Cup Playoffs get underway.

The Monarchs return home to take on the Connecticut Whale at the Verizon Wireless Arena on Friday, April 12 at 7:00 p.m. Catch all the play-by-play action of Monarchs hockey with Ken Cail on the Monarchs Radio Network WGIR 610 AM, and at, presented by Manchester-Boston Regional Airport.

View More