Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Tim Leiweke Named 2010 ‘Sports Executive of the Year’

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
LOS ANGELES -- Tim Leiweke of AEG will receive the prestigious 2010 Sports Executive of the Year award during the sixth annual LA Sports Awards, which will be held on Thursday, February 24 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The LA Sports Awards are presented annually by the Los Angeles Sports Council to celebrate the greatest moments of the year in sports in the Los Angeles/Orange County area.

As the president & CEO of AEG, Leiweke guides one of the most influential and respected sports business entities in the world. Leiweke and AEG are being recognized for having an exceptional year in 2010.

In 2010, the two local AEG-owned teams both qualified for the post-season. The
NHL’s Kings ended an 8-year playoff drought, while Major League Soccer’s Galaxy finished with the league’s best record and advanced to the Western Conference Final. Leiweke, who represents the Kings on the NHL Board of Governors, also can be credited for bringing the 2010 NHL Entry Draft to STAPLES Center for the first time.

Leiweke’s extraordinary leadership and vision led to the development of L.A. LIVE and the magnificent JW Marriott and the Ritz-Carlton Hotels at L.A. LIVE, across the street from STAPLES Center. Both hotel properties opened in 2010 and have had a huge impact on the local sports scene.

Leiweke also spent time laying the groundwork for a potential new downtown NFL stadium.

The awards show will be televised on FOX Sports West (initial airing will be on March 4) and will include special appearances by many of the athletes and coaches whose achievements helped make 2010 such a memorable year in sports.

In addition to the Sports Executive award, the ceremony also will feature a countdown of the Top 10 moments for 2010 as selected by a blue-ribbon media panel, along with the naming of the Sportsman, Sportswoman, and Coach of the Year.

For dinner ticket information, visit

Previous Sports Executive of the Year honorees were: Jerry Buss, L.A. Lakers (2009); Mitch Kupchak, L.A. Lakers (2008); Brian Burke, Anaheim Ducks, (2007); Ned Colletti, L.A. Dodgers & Brian Burke, Anaheim Ducks (2006); and Arte Moreno L.A. Angels (2005).
View More