Skip to main content
Site officiel des LA Kings

Kings News

Tampa's Overturned OT Goal

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
The Kings defeated the Lightning 2-1 in the SO on Saturday night.


But for a few minutes, however, it appeared that Tampa Bay had won the game in overtime as the Lightning scored with 1:40 left in the extra stanza...only, after Tampa had already begun celebrating a victory, the goal was eventually disallowed because of goaltender interference. The ruling on the ice was that Tampa Bay forward Paul Szczechura had interfered with Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick on Andrej Meszaros' shot from the blue line.

Click here to read/comment on Jim Fox's and Rich Hammond's analysis of the play.

LAKings.com takes a look at the play...talk about it (Hockeywood, L.A. Message boards)
QUOTES ON THE DISALLOWED GOAL
It was a terrible call. We won that game. I don’t know what happened there. I really don’t know… I guess everybody makes mistakes. Tampa Bay Goaltender Antero Niittymaki
…I think I got pushed in there, looking at the replay I was obviously pushed into the goalie. I’m going to try to avoid him at all costs if I can, but obviously I couldn’t get out of the way. It’s a tough break for us. Tampa Bay Center Paul Szczechura
I thought that was another reason it should have been called a goal, because I thought the puck was in the net before I made any contact with the goalie, so it’s tough. Tampa Bay Center Paul Szczechura
I’ve watched the replay of the interference call. I can’t give you an impartial opinion, but when I look at it in my experience it was the correct call. O’Donnell did not cross check him, he did not push him. There has to be an attempt by the player to stop, and the correct call was made on the play. Kings Head Coach Terry Murray
In the eyes of the referee, the goaltender was clearly interfered with by the attacking player. NHL referee supervisor Don Koharski
It's a tough one. We thought it was a goal. Obviously the ref pointed, but then he said it was incidental contact. That's how it was explained to me. There's nothing you can do. It happens all the time, where a goal is called back. You've still got to be able to focus. Tampa Bay head coach Rick Tocchet
RULE 69 - INTERFERENCE ON THE GOALKEEPER (Link to NHL Rule Book)
69.1 Interference on the Goalkeeper - This rule is based on the premise that an attacking player’s position, whether inside or outside the crease, should not, by itself, determine whether a goal should be allowed or disallowed. In other words, goals scored while attacking players are standing in the crease may, in appropriate circumstances be allowed. Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal; or (2) an attacking player initiates intentional or deliberate contact with a goalkeeper, inside or outside of his goal crease. Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact. The rule will be enforced exclusively in accordance with the on-ice judgment of the Referee(s), and not by means of video replay or review.
View More