Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News


by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
MANCHESTER, NH – The Manchester Monarchs and the American Hockey League announced today that rookie right wing Teddy Purcell will be a starter for the Canadian AHL All-Star team for the 2008 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Reebok, to be played later this month at the Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, New York. The PlanetUSA AHL All-Star team roster will be announced on Thursday.

Purcell, 22, is one of the most prolific newcomers in the AHL this season. He ranks first among rookies and second in the entire league with 35 assists and 47 points in 36 games for Manchester in his first year out of the University of Maine. Purcell, a native of St. John's, Newfoundland, was the Rbk Edge/AHL Rookie of the Month for November, when he tallied 17 points in 12 games for the Monarchs.

The Canadian team comprises 24 players – 13 forwards, eight defensemen and three goaltenders – born in Canada. AHL fans determined the starting lineup via on-line balloting at, while a committee of AHL coaches selected the remainder of the roster.

Among the members of the Canadian team are 15 first-time AHL All-Stars, including the AHL's top two scorers in Jason Krog of Chicago and Purcell, and leading goal-scorer Pascal Pelletier of Providence. The team also features former first-round draft picks Cam Barker of Rockford, Derick Brassard of Syracuse and Jeff Tambellini of Bridgeport.

Binghamton Senators forward Denis Hamel was selected to captain the Canadian team, his third career AHL All-Star Classic appearance. And because he led Hamilton to the Calder Cup championship in 2007, Don Lever will serve as the head coach for the Canadian AHL All-Stars.

Of the 427 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Brad Boyes, Daniel Briere, Zdeno Chara, Jonathan Cheechoo, Pavol Demitra, Rick DiPietro, Patrik Elias, Ray Emery, Juri Hudler, Miikka Kiprusoff, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal and Steve Sullivan.

The 2008 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Reebok will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in the 2008 CCM AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Sunday, January 27 (7:00 ET), and the 2008 AHL All-Star Game on Monday, January 28 (7:00 ET). The event will be televised nationally in the United States and Canada.

2008 Canadian AHL All-Star Team

Derick Brassard, Syracuse
Nigel Dawes, Hartford
Denis Hamel, Binghamton ("C")
Mike Iggulden, Worcester
Jason Krog, Chicago
Clarke MacArthur, Rochester
x-Pascal Pelletier, Providence
Joel Perrault, San Antonio
Rich Peverley, Milwaukee
x-Teddy Purcell, Manchester
x-Martin St. Pierre, Rockford
Jeff Tambellini, Bridgeport
Kyle Wanvig, Norfolk

x-Cam Barker, Rockford
Micki DuPont, Peoria
Joel Kwiatkowski, Chicago
x-Lawrence Nycholat, Binghamton
Ryan O'Byrne, Hamilton
Adam Pardy, Quad City
Alexandre Picard, Philadelphia
Derrick Walser, Toronto

x-Michael Leighton, Albany
Drew MacIntyre, Manitoba
Nolan Schaefer, Houston

Head Coach: Don Lever, Hamilton
Assistant Coach: Ron Wilson, Hamilton
Athletic Therapist: Luc Leblanc, Hamilton
Equipment Manager: David Aleo, Hamilton

View More