Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Monarchs Announce Schedule Format For 2011-12 Season

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings

MANCHESTER, NH - The Manchester Monarchs, the primary affiliate of the Los Angeles Kings, are scheduled to play 42 intra-division games during the 2010-11 season.  The Monarchs are also slated to play 24 games against Northeast Division opponents in addition to 10 games against East Division foes for a total of 76 games on the American Hockey League calendar.

During the annual league meetings in Hilton Head Island, South Carolina at the beginning of the month, the league's Board of Governors approved the formation of six separate divisions, with three in the Eastern Conference and three in the Western Conference.  This divisional alignment, with five teams in each division, replaces the previous alignment which featured two divisions within each conference.

Each division features five teams, with the Monarchs sharing the Atlantic Division with the Portland Pirates, Providence Bruins, Worcester Sharks and a new franchise in St. John's, Newfoundland which moved from Winnipeg, Manitoba.

The Monarchs will face division rivals Portland and Worcester 12 times (six home and six road contests), Providence 10 times (five home and five road games) and St. John's eight times (four home and four road games).

From the Northeast Division, the Monarchs will face-off against Springfield, Connecticut and Bridgeport six times each, with three games at home and three on the road.  Manchester will also play the Adirondack Phantoms four times (two home and two road game) and the Albany Devils twice (one home and one road game).

In addition, the Monarchs will face the 2011 Calder Cup Champion Binghamton Senators, the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins and the Hershey Bears from the East Division.  Manchester will play Wilkes-Barre/Scranton and Hershey four times (two home and two road games) and Binghamton twice (one home and one road game).

View More