Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News


by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
LOS ANGELES – The Los Angeles Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) have nominated former Kings’ veteran defenseman Jaroslav Modry as the club’s nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. The Masterton Trophy is awarded annually to “the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.”

Modry, 37, played in 61 games with the Kings this season and had six points (1-5=6) and 42 penalty minutes. The blue-liner, who also shared the team lead with a plus-2 rating, was traded to Philadelphia for a third-round draft selection in the 2008 NHL Entry Draft on February 19.

The 6-2, 220-pound native of Ceske-Budejovice, Czech Republic, has played in 717 career regular season NHL games with the Kings, Philadelphia Flyers, Dallas Stars, Atlanta Thrashers, Ottawa Senators and New Jersey Devils, and has 248 points (49-199=248) and 508 penalty minutes. Modry twice played with the Kings – from 2007-08 and from 1995-04 – and amongst Kings’ defensemen all-time, he ranks seventh in games played (454) and ninth in points (164). He also represented the Kings at the 2002 NHL All-Star Game at STAPLES Center.

Off the ice, Modry, along with his wife Jodi, was active in the Kings' Adopt-A-Family program. He also served lunch to underprivileged children during the Thanksgiving holiday, was active in “Kings-4-Kings Nights” benefiting the Children’s Cancer Research Fund, took part in the club's annual Children's Hospital visit and participated in the Kings’ charity golf tournament.

Nominated by the PHWA, each chapter nominates one player and those 30 are then narrowed to three and put up for general vote at the end of the season. A $2,500 grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, MN, in the name of the Masterton Trophy Winner.

The trophy was first presented by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player of the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited to a high degree the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey, and who died January 15, 1968, as a result of an on-ice incident.

Previous Kings who have won the Masterton Trophy include Dave Taylor (1990-91); Bob Bourne (1987-88) and Butch Goring (1977-78).

View More