Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News


by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
MANCHESTER, NH – The Manchester Monarchs, the primary affiliate of the Los Angeles Kings, and the American Hockey League has announced that Jason LaBarbera has won the Harry "Hap" Holmes Memorial Award for the 2006-07 season.

Since 1972, the award has been presented to the goaltender(s) appearing in at least 25 games for the team which allows the fewest goals in the regular season.

This is LaBarbera's second Hap Holmes Award in the last three seasons. He shared the award with current New York Rangers goaltender Steve Valiquette for Hartford in 2004-05.

Manchester, which finished the regular season with a record of 51-21-7-1, allowed just 182 goals in 2006-07 en route to the Atlantic Division championship. The Monarchs are on their way to the Calder Cup Playoffs for the sixth consecutive year, and will open their division semifinal series against Worcester on Wednesday night.

LaBarbera was the only one of the Monarchs' three goaltenders this season to qualify for the award, playing in a league-high 62 games. LaBarbera, also a First Team AHL All-Star and winner of the Aldege "Baz" Bastien Award as the top goaltender in the American Hockey League, posted a record of 39-20-1 and led the AHL in wins, save percentage (.933), minutes played (3,619), shots faced (1,995) and saves (1,862), tied for the league lead in shutouts (7) and ranked fourth with a 2.21 goals-against average.

The Harry "Hap" Holmes Memorial Award, which was first awarded in 1948 to the goaltender with the best goals-against average in the AHL, is named for Hockey Hall of Famer Harry "Hap" Holmes, a prominent figure in early professional hockey and an outstanding goaltender of his time. Previous winners or co-winners of the award include Gil Mayer (1951, '53, '54, '55, '56), Johnny Bower (1957, '58), Marcel Paille (1961, '62), Gerry Cheevers (1965), Gilles Villemure (1969, '70), Pete Peeters (1979), Pelle Lindbergh (1981), Olaf Kolzig (1994), Mike Dunham (1995), Manny Legace (1996), Jean-Sebastien Giguere (1998), Martin Biron (1999), Mika Noronen (2001), Joey MacDonald (2003), Wade Dubielewicz (2004) and Dany Sabourin (2006).
View More