Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

LA Sports Awards: Kings To Be Honored

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings

LOS ANGELES (January 16, 2013) – Los Angeles Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick, whose spectacular play in last year’s Stanley Cup playoffs fueled the Kings’ championship run, will receive the prestigious 2012 Sportsman of the Year award at the 8th LA Sports Awards, which will be held on Sunday, March 3 at The Beverly Hilton Hotel.

In addition, Kings head coach Darryl Sutter, who guided the club to its first Cup, will be the recipient of the Coach of the Year award.

The LA Sports Awards are presented annually by the Los Angeles Sports Council to celebrate the greatest moments of the year in sports in the Los Angeles/Orange County area.

The Sportsman award is given to the local male athlete whose performance and character best exemplified the ideals of sportsmanship during the calendar year.

As the Kings’ last line of defense, Quick etched his name in hockey history by winning the Conn Smythe Trophy, which is awarded annually to the player judged most valuable to his team during the National Hockey League's Stanley Cup playoffs. Quick posted a 16-4 record, a 1.41 Goals Against Average and three shutouts during his incredible postseason.

He also last year donated $500 for every win as part of his 326 Foundation, which raises funds to assist youth based organizations in the Los Angeles and New York areas. Thanks to his partnership with Matt Moulson, a former Kings player and Quick’s brother-in-law, they raised $18,000 for the Kings Care Foundation.

The star-studded awards dinner and gala will be televised by FOX Sports West and Prime Ticket (air dates TBA), and will include special appearances by many of the athletes, coaches and others whose achievements helped make 2012 such a memorable sports year.

When the Kings hired Sutter as head coach midway through the season, the team was struggling and out of a playoff spot. Few people, however, could predict what would ensue during the next six months.

Sutter led the Kings to a 25-13-11 mark in 49 games and the team squeezed into the final playoff spot in the Western Conference. In the postseason they beat the top three seeded teams – Vancouver in five games, a sweep of St. Louis and then they bested Phoenix in five games – before winning the first three games of the Stanley Cup Final and then finishing the job on June 11 in front of a frenzied crowd at STAPLES Center.

Presently, through balloting at, fans can select and rank their Top 10 sports moments for 2012, as well as submit their vote in up to 14 different award categories. Voting takes place through January 31 and the winners will be revealed during the 8th LA Sports Awards.

The awards ceremony also will feature the naming of the Sportswoman and Sports Executive of the Year.

The LA Sports Awards is a fundraiser for the non-profit Los Angeles Sports Council, which will utilize the event’s proceeds to further its mission of promoting economic development through sports in the greater Los Angeles area.

For dinner ticket information, contact Monica Maldonado at (213) 482-6352 or visit

Previous Sportsman of the Year honorees are: Clayton Kershaw, L.A. Dodgers (2011); Derek Fisher, L.A. Lakers (2010); Pau Gasol, L.A. Lakers (2009); Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers (2008); David Beckham, L.A. Galaxy (2007); Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers (2006); and Matt Leinart, USC (2005).

Previous Coach of the Year honorees are: Lane Kiffin, USC (2011); Bruce Arena, L.A. Galaxy (2010); Mike Scioscia, L.A. Angels of Anaheim (2009); and Phil Jackson, L.A. Lakers (2008).

View More