Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

LA Kings 2020-21 Team Award Winners

Find out which players stood out this season both on and off the ice!

by LA Kings @LAKings /

The LA Kings recognize players annually for their performance and contribution to the team.

As the 2020-21 season comes to a close, below are this years' honorees, as selected by players, media and other groups. 

Voted by the Media

Bill Libby Memorial Award for Most Valuable Player: Anze Kopitar

This is the eighth time and second second consecutive season that Kopitar has received the Bill Libby Memorial Award for Most Valuable Player, tying Marcel Dionne for the most wins of this award in franchise history.

Kopitar's milestone-filled season was highlighted by him scoring his 1,000th career point; something only 91 players in the history of the NHL have done. In this abbreviated season, Kopitar led the Kings in points (50), power play points (23) and assists (37). 

Video: LAK@ARI: Kopitar earns 1,000th point on Walker's goal

Video: COL@LAK: Kings recognize Kopitar hitting 1,000 points

Mark Bavis Memorial Award for Best Newcomer: Mikey Anderson

After making his NHL debut and playing in six games for the Kings last season, Anderson was a mainstay on the blue line this season. As a rookie, Anderson recorded 11 points (1-10=11) and was one of three Kings to have a positive plus/minus (plus-3).

Impressively, Anderson emerged as half of the Kings' top defensive pair alongside Drew Doughty and was third on the Kings in time on ice, averaging 21:08 minutes per game, trailing Doughty and Kopitar. Anderson's 21:08 of ice time was also the most among all rookies in the NHL. 

Video: ANA@LAK: Anderson doubles lead in 1st with backhander

Outstanding Defenseman: Drew Doughty

Doughty leads all defenseman in the NHL in power play goals (6) and is ranked tied for fifth among defenseman in power play points (18). The former Norris Trophy winner leads all skaters in the NHL in time on ice this season, averaging a 26:29 minutes from per game. Doughty recorded 34 points (8-26=34) this season and ranked second on the Kings in points.

This is the 11th time Doughty has received this award, the most out of any players in the franchise history. 

Video: LAK@MIN: Doughty buries rebound for power-play goal

Tweet from @LAKings: Forum blue and Drew.

Tweet from @LAKings: Drew Doughty ������ Adrian Kempe = 🚨

Defensive Player: Drew Doughty

Doughty did it all this season, standing out both offensively and defensively. This is Doughty's third time receiving the Best Defensive Player Award (2015-16 and 2016-17). Doughty leads all Kings players in blocked shots this season with 82. 

Tweet from @LAKings: What a play by Drew Doughty though.

Voted by Kings Players

Ace Bailey Memorial Award for Most Inspirational: Anze Kopitar

This is the second consecutive season that Anze Kopitar has won the Ace Bailey Memorial Award for Most Inspirational player. The Kings captain continues to show his leadership qualities both on and off the ice. 

Video: Anze Kopitar joins to talk about his 100th point

Unsung Hero: Trevor Moore

With much uncertainty going into the season as to who would solidify the Kings forward depth, Trevor Moore, the Thousand Oaks native put together an impressive and impactful season. Moore appeared in every game this season for the Kings and recorded 23 points (10-13=23). As the Kings move into next season, Moore's unsung hero status this year will likely carry him into a sustainable role, helping the Kings forward depth. 

Video: VGK@LAK: Moore wires home shot from the slot for 2nd

Video: LAK@ARI: Moore gets the puck off the draw and scores

Chosen by the Kings Booster Club

Most Popular Player: Anze Kopitar

This is the Kings captain's second time receiving this award, with the first being in 2006-07. Kopitar is set to become the Kings leading scorer for the 13th time (four consecutive years). The 13 times are the most by any player in franchise history (next closest is Marcel Dionne who won it nine times).

Tweet from @LAKings: Anze Kopitar inching closer to 1,000 @NHL points.

Chosen by Los Angeles chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association

Masterton Memorial Trophy Nominee: Matt Roy

Voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, Matt Roy has been nominated as the Kings representative who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey. Roy, who has recorded 10 points (2-8=10) this season has been a key component to the Kings blue line this season.

Video: LAK@SJS: Roy cranks a deep blast for 1-1 tie in 2nd

Video: LAK@VGK: Roy scores to give Kings an early 1-0 lead

View More