Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News


by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
LOS ANGELES – The Los Angeles Kings hold the second selection in the 2008 NHL Entry Draft following today’s NHL Draft Lottery in New York. The Tampa Bay Lightning hold the first selection in the 2008 Draft, which takes place June 20-21 in Ottawa.

Lombardi on Draft Lottery

For a complete look at 2008 NHL Entry Draft, including bios of the top-ranked players eligible for the draft, visit

The Kings enter the 2008 NHL Entry Draft with 15 total selections over seven rounds:

2008 NHL Entry Draft:
First-Round: 2 Selections (includes one pick from Dallas)
Second-Round: 3 Selections (includes one pick from Detroit/Calgary)
Third-Round: 3 Selections (includes one pick from Philadelphia/NY Rangers)
Fourth-Round: 2 Selections (includes one pick from Tampa Bay/Vancouver)
Fifth-Round: 1 Selection
Sixth-Round: 2 Selections (includes one pick from Dallas)
Seventh-Round: 2 Selections (includes one pick from Anaheim)

The Kings’ roster includes four players that were drafted in the first round. The list includes Jack Johnson (third overall, 2005), Anze Kopitar (11th overall, 2005), Dustin Brown (13th overall, 2003) and Alexander Frolov (20th overall, 2000).

Several legendary players went on to star in the NHL after first being drafted by the Kings. The list of memorable Kings players includes Dave Taylor (15th round, 1975), Luc Robitaille (ninth-round, 1984), Butch Goring (fifth-round, 1969), Bernie Nicholls (fourth-round, 1980), Jim Fox (first-round, 1980), Larry Murphy (first-round, 1980), Jimmy Carson (first-round, 1986) and Olli Jokinen (first-round, 1997).

The Kings have not selected in the top-two since they chose Carson with the second overall selection in the 1986 NHL Entry Draft. The other top-two selections in Kings’ history are: Doug Smith/second overall/1981; and Rick Pagnutti/first overall/1967.

The 2008 NHL Entry Draft will take place at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa. The first round will take place on Friday, June 20. The subsequent rounds (two through seven) will take place on Saturday, June 21.

View More