Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Kings To Honor Nick Nickson Tuesday Night

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings

Los Angeles Kings radio play-by-play broadcaster Nick Nickson will be honored at STAPLES Center on Tuesday night as part of the club’s popular Legends Night Series presented by McDonald’s. The honor in Los Angeles will come one day after Nickson is honored in Toronto by the Hockey Hall of Fame.

On Monday, Nickson will receive the 2015 Foster Hewitt Award as part of Induction Weekend festivities at the Hockey Hall of Fame. As selected by the NHL Professional Broadcasters’ Association, that award recognizes those members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and the game during their hockey broadcasting careers.

Nickson becomes the third Kings broadcaster to be so honored, joining Bob Miller and Jiggs McDonald.

On Tuesday night, the Kings will also wear their Vintage Jerseys as part of these special evenings, marking the only time the Kings will wear these sweaters at STAPLES Center during the 2015-16 season. The Kings this season will also honor former Kings players Mike Donnelly (February 23) and Jimmy Carson (March 7) at STAPLES Center.

Nickson, who is in his 35th season with the Kings, will be honored before the Kings-Arizona game at STAPLES Center with Miller serving as the MC. The radio “Voice-of-the-Kings,” Nickson is a veteran with 40 years of hockey broadcasting experience totaling more than 3,500 games (including over 3,000 with the Kings). He calls the action of every pre-season, regular season and postseason playoff game on KABC 790 and along the Kings Radio Network.

Fans are encouraged to arrive to their seats early. The ceremony will be broadcast live on FOX Sports West. All fans in attendance will receive a “commemorative Nick Nickson pin” presented by FOX Sports West. Game time is 7:30 p.m. For Kings ticket information, call 1-888-KINGS-LA and visit

As part of this series the Kings to date have recognized Rogie Vachon, Bob Berry, Bob Pulford, Bernie Nicholls, Daryl Evans, Charlie Simmer, Kelly Hrudey, Ian Laperriere, Jay Wells, Jim Fox, Larry Murphy, Barry Melrose, Tony Granato and Luc Robitaille.

View More