Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Kings are set for the NHL Awards Show & the NHL Draft

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings

LOS ANGELES – The Los Angeles Kings are scheduled to make four selections at the 2016 NHL Draft, set for this Friday and Saturday June 24-25 at First Niagara Center in Buffalo, New York, and three Kings players are finalists for awards at the NHL Awards Show which takes place later today at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The first round of the annual draft is set to begin on Friday at 4 pm (PT), and it will be broadcast live on NBCSN.  Rounds 2-7 of the draft will be held on Saturday beginning at 7 am (PT), with NHL Network providing live coverage to viewers throughout North America.

Jon Rosen will provide on-site pre-draft and draft day coverage of the Kings on will also be on-site with video interviews and video clips featuring Daryl Evans

The following is a list of the Kings round-by-round selections at this year’s draft:


Overall Selection









Draft Notes:  The Kings traded their 2016 first-round selection to Carolina along with prospect Roland McKeown for Andrej Sekera on February 25, 2015; The Kings traded their 2016 third-round selection to Philadelphia along with Jordan Weal for Vincent Lecavalier and Luke Schenn on January 6, 2016; The Kings traded their 2016 sixth-round selection and their 2015 fourth-round selection to Philadelphia for a fourth-round selection in 2015 (Austin Wagner). 

The NHL will also hold its annual Awards Show on Wednesday.  Anze Kopitar is a finalist for the Selke Trophy (awarded annually to the best defensive forward) and the Lady Byng Trophy (awarded annually to the player who demonstrates a high level of sportsmanship combined with a high standard of play), Drew Doughty is a finalist for the Norris Trophy (awarded annually to the best all-around defenseman), and Jonathan Quick is a finalist for the Vezina Trophy (awarded annually to the best goaltender). 

This is the third straight season Kopitar has been named a finalist for the Selke Trophy and the second straight season he’s served as a Lady Byng Trophy finalist.  Doughty was also a finalist for the Norris Trophy in 2015 and in 2010, and Quick was also a finalist for the Vezina Trophy in 2012.  No Kings player has ever won the Selke Trophy or the Vezina Trophy.  Rob Blake is the only Kings player to ever win the Norris Trophy (1998).  The last Kings player to win the Lady Byng Trophy was Wayne Gretzky (1994). and will be on-site for all awards show news from Las Vegas. 

View More