Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Kings announce changes to Legends Night Series

Club to host 'Miracle on Manchester' goal-scorers reunion on December 31

by LA Kings /

LOS ANGELES - The Los Angeles Kings today announced a significant change to the club's 2016-17 Legends Night Series presented by McDonald's.

The Kings, as scheduled, will honor Tomas Sandstrom pregame on January 7 and Jari Kurri pregame on January 14. Ziggy Palffy, however, will not be honored on December 31 due to a family situation.

The Kings on December 31 are now scheduled to host a reunion of Miracle on Manchester goal-scorers as that historical event approaches its 35th Anniversary. Slated to be recognized pregame are five of the six gentlemen - Daryl Evans, Steve Bozek, Doug Smith, Charlie Simmer and Jay Wells -- who scored goals in the third period and in overtime (Evans) in the Kings-Edmonton postseason game on April 10, 1982 at the Forum in Los Angeles in what remains the largest comeback in NHL playoff history. Mark Hardy, who scored one of the Kings' goals that night, is unable to attend due to a coaching commitment.

Said Palffy, who is slated to participate in next year's Legends Night Series: "I am very sorry I can't join the fans in LA this 50th year for Legend's Night. This is a very tough and important time for me and my family and I appreciate the understanding. I will look forward to joining the organization for a Legend's Night during the 2017-18 season."

Facing the heavily-favored Edmonton Oilers in the best-of-five first round of the 1982 playoffs, the Kings pulled off two huge upsets - one, in winning the series three games to two; and two, winning Game 3 of the series. Down 5-0 in the third period of that game the Kings steadily chipped away at Edmonton's lead and tied the game with five seconds left in regulation. At 2:35 of the extra period, Evans, then a rookie, sent a shot over Grant Fuhr's shoulder to seal an improbable end to an incredible game.

As part of this special series the Kings over the years have recognized Rogie Vachon, Bob Berry, Bob Pulford, Bernie Nicholls, Evans, Simmer, Kelly Hrudey, Ian Laperriere, Wells, Jim Fox, Larry Murphy, Barry Melrose, Tony Granato, Luc Robitaille, Mike Donnelly, Jimmy Carson and Nick Nickson.

View More