Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Jones, Voynov Names Eastern Conference AHL All-Stars

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
SPRINGFIELD, MA - The American Hockey League announced Tuesday that Manchester Monarchs goaltender Martin Jones and defenseman Viatcheslav Voynov were named to the Eastern Conference All-Star Team at the 2011 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross, to be played at the end of the month at Giant Center in Hershey, Pennsylvania on January 30-31, 2011.

Jones, 21, leads goaltenders in the AHL with a 1.75 goals-against-average and ranks second in the league with a .943 save percentage through 20 games this season. Skating in his rookie season, the 6-foot-4, 191-pound native of North Vancouver, British Columbia has also collected a record of 14-3-0 in his 20 games with the Monarchs. This will be his first AHL All-Star appearance.

Voynov, 20, made his first AHL All-Star appearance at the 2010 Times Warner Cable All-Star Classic and recorded an assist for the PlanetUSA AHL All-Stars who eventually fell to the Canadian AHL All-Stars 10-9 in the game. The 5-foot-11, 193-pound native of Chelyabinsk, Russia leads the Monarchs with 29 points (8-21=29) in 37 games this season. Over the last three season in Manchester, Voynov has appeared in 177 games and tallied 81 points (26-55=81) and 108 penalty minutes from 2008-present.

Each team comprises 23 players – 12 forwards, eight defensemen and three goaltenders. AHL fans determined the starting lineups via on-line balloting at, while a committee of AHL coaches selected the remainder of the rosters. All 30 AHL teams are represented by at least one All-Star.

The 2011 squads include 31 first-time AHL All-Stars and 11 rookies. Among that group are AHL rookie scoring leader Rhett Rakhshani of the Bridgeport Sound Tigers, leading rookie goal-scorer Bobby Butler of the Binghamton Senators, and standout first-year goaltenders Jake Allen of the Peoria Rivermen and Jones of the Monarchs. A total of 12 former first- and second-round draft picks were also named All-Stars, including Syracuse’s Kyle Palmieri, Springfield’s John Moore and Grand Rapids’ Brendan Smith.

Players returning to the AHL All-Star Classic include AHL leading scorer Corey Locke of Binghamton, who is the all-time leading scorer in AHL All-Star history with nine points in four previous appearances. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton’s Dustin Jeffrey, Hershey’s Andrew Gordon, Charlotte’s Bryan Rodney, Manchester’s Voynov, Manitoba’s Sergei Shirokov and Houston’s Maxim Noreau are all back in the midseason classic after making their first appearance in 2010.

Hershey Bears head coach Mark French and assistant coach Troy Mann will guide the Eastern Conference All-Stars by virtue of the Bears’ 2010 Calder Cup championship. Rookie head coaches John Hynes of the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins and Jared Bednar of the Peoria Rivermen are set to co-coach the Western Conference entry after their teams finished play this past Sunday with the best records in their respective conferences.

Tickets for the 2011 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross – which include admission to both the 2011 AHL All-Star Skills Competition at 3 p.m. on Sunday, January 30, and the 2011 AHL All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Monday, January 31 – are nearly sold out. Tickets remain available for the 2011 AHL Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony (January 31, 11 a.m.) and the Post-Skills Party (January 30, 6 p.m.). Contact the Giant Center box office at (717) 534-3911 for information.

The 2011 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross in Hershey will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League, competing in the AHL All-Star Skills Competition and the AHL All-Star Game, a two-day event to be televised nationally in the United States and Canada. Of the 528 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Dan Boyle, Daniel Briere, Dustin Byfuglien, Brian Campbell, Zdeno Chara, Eric Fehr, Miika Kiprusoff, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Bobby Ryan, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal and Tomas Vokoun.

2011 Eastern Conference AHL All-Star Team

Luke Adam, Portland
Matt Anderson, Albany
Bobby Butler, Binghamton
x-Jonathan Cheechoo, Worcester
x-Andrew Gordon, Hershey
Johan Harju, Norfolk
Dustin Jeffrey, W-B/Scranton
x-Corey Locke, Binghamton
Kyle Palmieri, Syracuse
Rhett Rakhshani, Bridgeport
Jerome Samson, Charlotte
Jeremy Williams, Connecticut

Erik Gustafsson, Adirondack
Steven Kampfer, Providence
John Moore, Springfield
x-Lawrence Nycholat, Hershey
Bryan Rodney, Charlotte
Drew Schiestel, Portland
Viatcheslav Voynov, Manchester
x-Mark Wotton, Bridgeport (“C”)


Braden Holtby, Hershey
Martin Jones, Manchester
x-Brad Thiessen, W-B/Scranton


Head Coach: Mark French, Hershey
Assistant Coach: Troy Mann, Hershey
Athletic Trainer: Dan Stuck, Hershey
Equipment Manager: Justin Kullman, Hershey

2011 Western Conference AHL All-Star Team

Joey Crabb, Toronto
x-David Desharnais, Hamilton
x-Alexandre Giroux, Oklahoma City (“C”)
Linus Klasen, Milwaukee
Spencer Machacek, Chicago
Brett MacLean, San Antonio
x-Travis Morin, Texas
Linus Omark, Oklahoma City
Max Pacioretty, Hamilton
Michal Repik, Rochester
Sergei Shirokov, Manitoba
Ryan Stoa, Lake Erie

T.J. Brodie, Abbotsford
Brian Connelly, Rockford
Maxim Noreau, Houston
Nathan Oystrick, Peoria
x-Paul Postma, Chicago
Brendan Smith, Grand Rapids
x-Garrett Stafford, San Antonio
Clay Wilson, Rochester

x-Jake Allen, Peoria
Mark Dekanich, Milwaukee
Curtis Sanford, Hamilton


Co-Coach: John Hynes, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
Co-Coach: Jared Bednar, Peoria
Athletic Trainer: Kent Weisbeck, Rochester
Equipment Manager: Ralph Calvanese, Springfield

View More