Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Jay Wells – A Closer Look

by Mike Kalinowski / Los Angeles Kings

On August 9, 1979, the LA Kings – with the 16th overall pick in the first round of the NHL Entry Draft – selected Gordon Jay Wells, a rugged stay-at-home defenseman. Wells served as a Kings alternate captain while in LA, and he would go on to play nine seasons with the Kings and 18 total seasons in the NHL, compiling a lengthy list of milestones and accomplishments along the way.

On Sunday (October 27), the Kings will honor Wells for his years of service by hosting him as part of Legends Night presented by McDonald’s. On this special night, the Kings will wear their vintage purple and gold jerseys – the same style of jersey worn by Wells from 1979 through 1988 – and in addition the Kings will recognize Wells with a special Bobble Fist Giveaway for Kings fans.

Wells, the ninth player to be honored as a legend by the Kings since the Legends Night series began in 2010-11, appeared in over 600 regular season games with the Kings, totaling 177 points (34-143=177) and 1,446 penalty minutes over his nine seasons with the club.

Career Highlights:

•One of only 27 players all-time to amass over 1,000 games played (1,098) and 2,000 or more penalty minutes during his NHL career.

•Led the Kings in penalty minutes for six consecutive seasons (1979-80 through 1984-85).

•His 1,446 penalty minutes as a King are third overall and second among defensemen on the Kings all-time lists.

•His 604 games played as a King are 10th overall and fourth among defensemen on the Kings all-time lists.

•Was a member of the Stanley Cup Champion New York Rangers in 1994.

•In addition to the Kings, he also played for Philadelphia, Buffalo, New York (Rangers), St. Louis and Tampa Bay before retiring as a 37-year-old in 1996-97.

Wells is one of three former Kings greats scheduled to be honored as a legend this season. Joining him in the Legends Series class of 2013-14 will be Larry Murphy (on December 7 vs. the New York Islanders) and Jim Fox (on March 13 vs. Toronto).

The eight other Kings previously honored with a Legends Night:

2012-13: Ian Laperriere and Kelly Hrudey

2011-12: Daryl Evans, Bernie Nicholls and Charlie Simmer

2010-11: Rogie Vachon, Bob Berry and Bob Pulford

View More