Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Dean Lombardi Announced As Award Finalist

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings

NEW YORK (May 23, 2014) – Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens,

Dean Lombardi of the Los Angeles Kings and Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks

are the three finalists for the 2013-14 NHL General Manager of the Year

Award, the National Hockey League announced today. Bergevin and Murray are

finalists for the second consecutive season, while Lombardi is a finalist

for the first time.

Voting for this award was conducted among the 30 club general

managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the

conclusion of the Second Round of the 2014 Stanley Cup Playoffs. The winner

will be announced Tuesday, June 24, during the 2014 NHL Awards from Encore

Theater at Wynn Las Vegas. The 2014 NHL Awards will be broadcast by NBCSN

in the United States and CBC in Canada.

Following are the finalists for the NHL General Manager of the Year

Award, in alphabetical order:

Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens

Bergevin guided the Canadiens (46-28-8, 100 points) to their second

100-point season since 1992-93, leading the team to the playoffs for the

second time in as many years as general manager. He bolstered the offense

with the summer signing of Daniel Briere and also added grit with the

offseason acquisitions of Douglas Murray and George Parros. Bergevin then

shored up the roster with midseason trades for Thomas Vanek, Mike Weaver

and Dale Weise, all of whom played critical roles in the team advancing to

the Eastern Conference Final for the second time in the past five seasons.

Dean Lombardi, Los Angeles Kings

Under the direction of Lombardi, the Kings (46-28-8, 100 points)

earned their fifth consecutive playoff berth, recorded their fourth

100-point season in franchise history and made their third straight

appearance in the Western Conference Final. He solidified the team’s blue

line by re-signing defensemen Alec Martinez, Jake Muzzin and Slava Voynov

and did the same up front by bringing back Dustin Brown, Kyle Clifford,

Trevor Lewis and Jordan Nolan. Lombardi then kick-started the club’s

offense with the addition of Marian Gaborik at the Trade Deadline; after

being blanked six times in 63 games prior to his arrival, the Kings were

not shut out once in the final 19 contests of the regular season with

Gaborik in the lineup.

Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks

Murray paved the way for the finest season in Ducks history, leading

the team to its second straight Pacific Division title; the top record in

the Western Conference for the first time in club history; and franchise

records in wins (54), points (116), points percentage (.707), home wins

(29) and road wins (25). He set the Ducks up for success by re-signing Matt

Beleskey, Saku Koivu, Ben Lovejoy and Kyle Palmieri as well as enticing

Teemu Selanne to return for one final season. Murray also traded for

Mathieu Perreault during the preseason; added depth players in Mark Fistric

, Tim Jackman, Stephane Robidas and Jakob Silfverberg; and oversaw the

development of young goaltenders Frederik Andersen and John Gibson.

View More