Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News


by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
NEW YORK (December 12, 2007) – Detroit Red Wings teammates Nicklas Lidstrom and Henrik Zetterberg top all Western Conference defensemen and forwards, respectively, in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports. Lidstrom’s 301,245 votes lead the West overall while Zetterberg’s 210,890 votes are the most among forwards. More than 7.9 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio). Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Lidstrom and Dion Phaneuf (203,326) of the Calgary Flames are the top defensemen in votes. Zetterberg, Red Wings teammate Pavel Datsyuk (174,141) and Calgary Flames right wing Jarome Iginla (149,550) are the top three forwards. Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks (154,591) leads all goaltenders.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage. Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game as guests of XM. The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players. Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting. To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference
(as of 12/10/07)

Nicklas Lidstrom
Player NHL Club Votes
Henrik Zetterberg Detroit 210,890
Pavel Datsyuk Detroit 174,141
Jarome Iginla Calgary 149,550
Joe Sakic Colorado 115,080
Mike Cammalleri Los Angeles 112,128
Joe Thornton San Jose 95,196
Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose 91,084
Ryan Getzlaf Anaheim 84,339
Rick Nash Columbus 83,496
Marian Gaborik Minnesota 80,168
Jason Arnott Nashville 79,188
Paul Stastny Colorado 78,925
Mike Modano Dallas 60,813
Paul Kariya St. Louis 50,030
Shane Doan Phoenix 46,290
Anze Kopitar Los Angeles 44,792
Markus Naslund Vancouver 34,660
Ryan Smyth Colorado 32,120
Ales Hemsky Edmonton 30,681
Henrik Sedin Vancouver 29,719
Martin Havlat Chicago 29,092
Daniel Sedin Vancouver 28,735
Milan Hejduk Colorado 25,271
Andy McDonald Anaheim 22,598
Patrick Marleau San Jose 20,824
Keith Tkachuk St. Louis 20,380
Brian Rolston Minnesota 17,990
Daymond Langkow Calgary 16,776
Brenden Morrow Dallas 13,555
*Patrick Kane Chicago 13,483
David Legwand Nashville 8,498
Detroit 301,245
Dion Phaneuf Calgary 203,326
Chris Pronger Anaheim 133,259
Rob Blake Los Angeles 112,718
Francois Beauchemin Anaheim 103,071
Brian Rafalski Detroit 84,000
Scott Hannan Colorado 62,140
Sheldon Souray Edmonton 59,028
Sergei Zubov Dallas 58,804
Ed Jovanovski Phoenix 57,453
Mattias Ohlund Vancouver 55,241
Lubomir Visnovsky Los Angeles 36,247
Robyn Regehr Calgary 22,993
Roberto Luongo Vancouver 154,591
Pascal Leclaire Columbus 135,447
Dominik Hasek Detroit 73,152
Jean-Sebastien Giguere Anaheim 68,472
Niklas Backstrom Minnesota 55,957
Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary 52,680
Evgeni Nabokov San Jose 35,169
Nikolai Khabibulin Chicago 33,441
Marty Turco Dallas 28,543

*write-in candidate

View More