Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Winnipeg Jets

Two Jets added to World Cup of Hockey rosters

by Staff Writer / Winnipeg Jets

The Winnipeg Jets Hockey Club, in conjunction with the National Hockey League and the National Hockey League Players Association, have announced Winnipeg Jets’ centre Mark Scheifele and defenceman Jacob Trouba have been added to Team North America’s roster for the World Cup of Hockey which is comprised of the best under-24 aged players from Canada and the United States.

Mark Scheifele, 23, was second in team scoring with 61 points. He led the Jets with 29 goals to go along with 32 assists on the season. He capped off the year off by winning a gold medal with Team Canada at the 2016 IIHF World Championship in Russia. Jacob Trouba, 22, had 21 points (6G, 15A) on the season and was third in ice-time for Winnipeg, averaging 22:03 per game. Ivan Telegin, who is Jets’ property after being drafted by Atlanta in the fourth round, 101st overall in 2010, was named to Team Russia for the event. Telegin is playing in the KHL with CSKA Moscow and recently won a bronze medal with Russia at the World Championship in Moscow.

Four Winnipeg Jets were previously named to the initial rosters on March 2. Dustin Byfuglien and Blake Wheeler are on Team U.S.A. while Connor Hellebuyck will suit up for Team North America and Ondrej Pavelec will represent the Czech Republic.

In addition to the players, Winnipeg Jets’ head coach Paul Maurice will be an assistant coach with Team Europe and Head Equipment Manager Jason McMaster will be an Equipment Manager with Team Europe.

Eight teams -- Team Canada, Team Czech Republic, Team Finland, Team Russia, Team Sweden, Team USA, Team Europe and Team North America -- will compete in the two-week tournament, featuring more than 150 of the best players in the NHL. All tournament games will be played at Air Canada Centre in Toronto.

The World Cup of Hockey 2016 is a joint effort of the National Hockey League and the National Hockey League Players’ Association, in cooperation with the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). The eight teams are split into two Groups, Group A and Group B, for the Preliminary Round (Sept. 17-22), when each team will play its three Group opponents in a round-robin format. Placed in Group A are Team Canada, Team Czech Republic and Team USA, plus Team Europe, a pan-European roster of players from birth countries outside of the Czech Republic, Finland, Russia and Sweden. The four teams in Group B are Team Finland, Team Russia, Team Sweden and Team North America, a selection of the top players from Canada and the United States who are 23 or under as of Oct. 1, 2016.

View More