Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Winnipeg Jets

Stanford named AHL Executive of the Year

by Staff Writer / Winnipeg Jets

The Chief Operating Officer of the St. John’s IceCaps has been named the American Hockey League’s Executive of the Year.

Glenn Stanford was the 2011-12 winner of the James C. Hendy Memorial Award, given to the executive who has made “the most outstanding contribution to the American Hockey League.” The announcement was made during the AHL’s Board of Governors meetings this week in Hilton Head, South Carolina. The award is named to honor Jim Hendy, a long-time contributor to the AHL and the general manager of the Cleveland Barons until his death in 1961.

Stanford’s hard work and dedication was crucial to the formation of the IceCaps last year. From the announcement of the AHL returning to St. John’s on June 10 to the team’s home opener Oct. 14, Stanford had just four months to start the franchise, and did so working 12-16 hours a day, seven days a week to return pro hockey to St. John’s.

In that short time frame, Stanford’s leadership helped the IceCaps sell close to 4,500 season tickets (one third of those on three-year commitments) and sell more than 35 corporate sponsorships (to be among the league leaders in that category). He did this while also hiring staff, making alterations to the dressing room and overseeing an organization that would become the envy of the AHL.

“I want to congratulate Glenn on this well-deserved recognition,” said IceCaps President and CEO Danny Williams. “When I put our organization in place, I knew that Glenn's extensive experience would be a great asset in getting the new team up and running. Working with his entire team in the head office, Glenn has produced solid results with an inaugural season of which everyone is so proud to have been a part.”

Year One for the St. John’s IceCaps would have to be classified as a rousing success, since the team sold out all 46 home games, reached the AHL’s Eastern Conference Final, donated hundreds of thousands of dollars to local charities through the team’s foundation and 50/50 draws, became part of the province through player appearances and other community efforts and brought hockey excitement back to St. John’s.

Additional note: Stanford is a two-time winner of the James C. Hendy Memorial Award, having received the honour in 2002 while with the St. John’s Maple Leafs. Only three others in AHL history have won the award multiple times.

View More