Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Winnipeg Jets

IceCaps send pair to 2012 AHL All-Star Classic

by Staff Writer / Winnipeg Jets

The American Hockey League announced its rosters for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic Wednesday afternoon, and defencemen Paul Postma and Zach Redmond have been named to represent the St. John’s IceCaps on the ice.

The blueliners are part of an IceCaps team that sits second in the Atlantic Division, just one point behind the Manchester Monarchs for first place. They join head coach Keith McCambridge, who was selected as head coach for the Eastern Conference on Sunday, as representatives of the IceCaps.
Postma, 22, is third in scoring among defencemen with 25 points (6g, 19a) in 26 games and is coming off a 10-game point streak in December, during which he recorded three goals and 12 assists for 15 points. The Red Deer, AB native spent last season with the Chicago Wolves of the AHL, registering 12 goals and 45 points in 69 contests, and earning a selection to the Western Conference All-Star team. During his three seasons in the AHL, Postma has 33 goals and 66 assists for 99 points in 158 career games.
Redmond, 23, is in his first full season of professional hockey. The 6-2, 205-pound rearguard has played in all 32 games for the IceCaps, recording 15 points (4g, 11a), and is a plus-9, second on the team. The Michigan native played with Ferris State University last season, notching 20 points in 26 games before joining the Chicago Wolves of the AHL for three games.
Fans will have the opportunity to vote for the starting lineups for the 2012 AHL All-Star Game by visiting or and completing the official Reebok AHL All-Star Fan Ballot. By completing the official ballot, fans will also be entered to win a grand prize of a team-signed authentic 2012 AHL All-Star jersey. Five more winners will each receive a pair of tickets to the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition and All-Star Game, courtesy of Insurance Office of America. 

2012 AHL All-Star Classic Fan Balloting presented by Reebok will begin Thursday, January 5, at 1:30 p.m. NL time at and on the Official American Hockey League Fan Page at On-line fan balloting at will end at 1:30 p.m. NL time on Monday, January 23, 2012.
About the AHL All-Star Classic
The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in an internationally televised showcase from historic Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City. Of the 562 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Dan Boyle, Daniel Briere, Ryan Callahan, Brian Campbell, Zdeno Chara, Jimmy Howard, Miikka Kiprusoff, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Pekka Rinne, Bobby Ryan, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal, P.K. Subban and Tomas Vokoun.
View More