Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Winnipeg Jets

Canada makes final cuts for WJC team

by Staff Writer / Winnipeg Jets
Carolina Hurricanes prospect Ryan Murphy was one of 14 players released by Hockey Canada on Wednesday, as the final roster was cut to 22 players for the 2012 World Junior Championship.

According to, those sent home were defensemen Murphy, Joe Morrow, Alex Petrovic and 2012 NHL Draft prospect Cody Ceci, goalies Tyler Bunz and Louis Domingue; and forwards Brett Bulmer, Christian Thomas, Max Reinhart, Tyler Toffoli, Brad Ross, Ty Rattie, Phillip Danault, and 2012 draft prospect Phillip DiGiuseppe.

The final roster includes four players from last year's team that won the silver medal -- goalie Mark Visentin and forwards Brett Connolly, Quinton Howden and Jaden Schwartz.

Mark Scheifele
GP: 19 | GOALS: 13 | ASST: 23
PIM: 16 | +/-: +8
Winnipeg Jets first round draft pick in 2011, Mark Scheifele made the cut and is expected to be Team Canada's #1 centre at the tournament. Scheifele appeared in seven games with the Jets at the beginning of the 2011-12 season, scoring one goal in that time. So far in 19 games this season with the Barrie Colts of the OHL the Kitchener, Ontario born centre has notched 36 points (13 goals, 23 assists).

Two players available for the 2012 NHL Draft will be part of the team -- defenseman Ryan Murray of the Everett Silvertips and forward Tanner Pearson of the Barrie Colts.

There is a chance, however, that two of the players cut Wednesday could be called back. Howden is suffering from concussion-like symptoms and Jonathan Huberdeau is day-to-day with a foot injury. If neither is available for when the tournament opens Dec. 26, a forward could be recalled.


Goalies -- Mark Visentin, Niagara, OHL (Phoenix); Scott Wedgewood, Plymouth, OHL (New Jersey).

Defense -- Nathan Beaulieu, Saint John, QMJHL (Montreal); Brandon Gormley, Moncton, QMJHL (Phoenix); Dougie Hamilton, Niagara, OHL (Boston); Scott Harrington, London, OHL (Pittsburgh); Ryan Murray, Everett, WHL (2012 draft eligible); Jamie Oleksiak, Saginaw, OHL (Dallas); Mark Pysyk, Edmonton, WHL (Buffalo).

Forwards -- Michael Bournival, Shawinigan, QMJHL (Montreal); Brendan Gallagher, Vancouver, WHL (Montreal); Freddie Hamilton, Niagara, OHL (San Jose); Quinton Howden, Moose Jaw, WHL (Florida); Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John, QMJHL (Florida); Boone Jenner, Oshawa, OHL (Columbus); Tanner Pearson, Barrie, OHL (2012 draft eligible); Mark Scheifele, Barrie, OHL (Winnipeg); Jaden Schwartz, Colorado College, WCHA (St. Louis); Mark Stone, Brandon, WHL (Ottawa); Devante Smith-Pelly, Anaheim, NHL; Ryan Strome, Niagara, OHL (New York Islanders); Brett Connolly, Tampa Bay Lightning, NHL.
View More