Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Voting open for Bob Nystrom Award

by Staff Writer / New York Islanders

The Bob Nystrom Award was created in 1991 to recognize an Islanders player that exemplifies leadership, hustle and dedication. These were the same ideals that former Islanders Hall of Fame winger, Bob Nystrom represented every time he stepped on the ice or in the community. The honor is dedicated to "Mr. Islander" for everything he did and continues to do for the Islanders organization. Including the postseason, Nystrom played 1,057 games for the Islanders from 1972 through 1986, but is most remembered for the 1980 Stanley Cup clinching overtime goal.

Last season, forward Matt Martin won his fourth consecutive Nystrom Award. Martin led the NHL in hits for the fourth straight season.

"I've gotten to know Mr. Nystrom throughout my years playing for the Islanders and to have my name on a trophy named after him is a true honor," Martin said of winning the award four straight seasons. "We have a room full of players that could win this award. I'm thankful to the fans that have voted for me. It's an honor to be an Islanders and represent the community every night."

Prior to Martin's four-peat, Frans Nielsen won the award. The alternate captain received the honor in 2010-11 after leading the team with a plus13 rating.

"It's something I'm proud of," Nielsen said. "I've always tried to be a guy that competes hard every night, so it's awesome that the fans see that in my style of play."

Click here to cast your vote for the 2015-16 Bob Nystrom Award

Past Winners:

  • 2014-15 Matt Martin
  • 2013-14 Matt Martin
  • 2012-13 Matt Martin
  • 2011-12 Matt Martin
  • 2010-11 Frans Nielsen
  • 2009-10 Kyle Okposo
  • 2008-09 Tim Jackman
  • 2007-08 Richard Park
  • 2006-07 Trent Hunter
  • 2005-06 Kevin Colley
  • 2003-04 Adrian Aucoin
  • 2002-03 Jason Blake/Garth Snow
  • 2001-02 Steve Webb
  • 2000-01 Dave Scatchard
  • 1999-2000 Claude Lapointe
  • 1998-99 Claude Lapointe
  • 1997-98 Rich Pilon
  • 1996-97 Claude Lapointe
  • 1995-96 Dan Plante
  • 1993-94 Steve Thomas
  • 1992-93 Benoit Hogue
  • 1991-92 Ray Ferraro
  • 1990-91 Brent Sutter
View More