Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Voting open for Bob Nystrom Award

by Staff Writer / New York Islanders

First awarded in 1991 to Brent Sutter, the honor is dedicated to “Mr. Islander.” Including the postseason, Nystrom played 1,057 games for the Islanders from 1972 through 1986, but is most remembered for the 1980 Stanley Cup clinching overtime goal.

Last season, forward Matt Martin won his third consecutive Nystrom Award. Martin led the NHL in hits for the third consecutive season.

“I pride myself on being a hard-working player,” Martin said upon receiving the award in 2013. “There are definitely a lot of guys in the room that could have won it, but I’m honored to have my name on that trophy.”

Forward Frans Nielsen is the last Islander not named Matt Martin to receive the honor, as won the award during the 2010-11 season after leading the team with a plus-13 rating.

“It’s something I’m proud of,” Nielsen said. “I’ve always tried to be a guy that competes hard every night, so it’s awesome that the fans see that in my style of play.”

Click here to cast your vote for the 2014-15 Bob Nystrom Award.

Past Winners:

2013-14 Matt Martin 2001-02 Steve Webb
2012-13 Matt Martin 2000-01 Dave Scatchard
2011-12 Matt Martin 1999-2000 Claude Lapointe
2010-11 Frans Nielsen 1998-99 Claude Lapointe
2009-10 Kyle Okposo 1997-98 Rich Pilon
2008-09 Tim Jackman 1996-97 Claude Lapointe
2007-08 Richard Park 1995-96 Dan Plante
2006-07 Trent Hunter 1993-94 Steve Thomas
2005-06 Kevin Colley 1992-93 Benoit Hogue
2003-04 Adrian Aucoin 1991-92 Ray Ferraro
2002-03 Jason Blake/Garth Snow 1990-91 Brent Sutter

View More