Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Vote for Islanders in NHL's Greatest Moments

Three Islanders plays make the NHL's top-64 moments of all time

by New York Islanders NYIslanders / NHL

The NHL has taken 100 years of hockey and narrowed it down to the top 64 moments and the New York Islanders are well-represented in the top-64. 

The Islanders have three entries: Bobby Nystrom's Stanley Cup-clinching goal in 1980, the Islanders fourth Stanley Cup win in 1983 and Pat LaFontaine's OT winner in the 1987 Easter Epic. Not bad for a team that hasn't even been around for half of the league's lifetime. 

The NHL is leaving it up to the fans to decide what the top moment in league history is with the Greatest NHL Moments bracket. 

Per the league: 
This bracket-style, interactive, digital and mobile program will give fans the opportunity to select the Greatest NHL Moment of all time. Choosing from 64 of the NHL's most memorable events, milestones and achievements -- spanning from the League's inaugural season in 1917-18 to present day -- fans will have a chance to define history and vote for their favorite moment during the six-week period from October 18-November 28.

Starting today, fans can visit to begin Round 1 voting, and join the conversation using the hashtag #NHLGreatestMoments. The 64 moments, as determined by a Blue Ribbon panel consisting of broadcasters from NHL national rightsholders NBC Sports Group, NHL Network, Sportsnet and TVA, have been placed into a bracket style format, include a video for each moment, and are divided into four regions: Hart Region, Norris Region, Calder Region and Vezina Region. 

The selection process includes six rounds of voting, and the schedule is as follows:

October 18-24 - Round 1 voting
October 25-31 - Round 2 voting
November 1-7 - Round 3 voting
November 8-14 - Round 4 voting
November 15-21 - Semifinals voting
November 22-28 - Final voting
December 16 - Greatest NHL Moment announced at 2017 Scotiabank NHL100 Classic™

So go out and vote for your favorites and advance the Islanders like it's 1980! 

And in case you need a refresher…

Video: 1980: Bob Nystrom's OT goal wins Islanders first Cup

Video: 1983: Islanders win fourth consecutive Stanley Cup

Video: 1987: Pat LaFontaine wins "Easter Epic" for Islanders

View More