Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Streit Nominated For Masterton Trophy

by Staff Writer / New York Islanders

Mark Streit
The Long Island Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writer's Association has nominated Islanders defenseman Mark Streit for the Masterton Trophy, which is awarded to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. The Trophy will be awarded at the NHL Awards Show on June 18 in Las Vegas.

Each of the NHL's 30 teams has a player nominated by the local chapter of the PHWA. Among those who voted were: Greg Logan of Newsday, Peter Botte of the New York Daily News, Dan Martin of the New York Post and Lou Freidman of the Associated Press.

The Islanders have had two players previously win the award—Ed Westfall in 1977 and Mark Fitzpatrick in 1992.

To read more about Streit's nomination by the PHWA, click here to read a blog entry by Newsday Islander Beat Writer Greg Logan.

View More