Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Live Updates - Islanders vs. Coyotes 10/8/13

by Travis Betts / New York Islanders

Live Updates

New York Islanders vs. Phoenix Coyotes
Tuesday, Oct. 8, 2013 - 7:00 p.m. - Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum - Uniondale, NY

Note: Page will automatically refresh every 60 seconds.

1st Period

1:49: Snipe by Peter Regin from the left circle makes it 1-0. Coyotes turned it over in the neutral zone, and Regin attacked on a 2-on-1, drifting in and shooting high. Assist goes to Brock Nelson, who forced the turnover.

13:36: The game's first penalty goes to Phoenix's David Schlemko for hi-sticking. Shots: NYI 3 PHX 7.

13:36: Now it's a two minute 5-on-3 as Antoine Vermette will sit for delay of game on the ensuing faceoff.

15:07: Very patient power play for the Isles pays off. Kyle Okposo worked it down low to Frans Nielsen, who whipped it through the D down low for a John Tavares one-timer from the right side. 2-0 Islanders, with 30 seconds remaining on the Vermette minor.

17:09: Tavares goes away for hooking, and Phoenix goes to their first power play of the night.

19:09: Islaners allow zero shots, and are 1-for-1 on the PK.

End 1st: NYI 3 PHX 0. Shots: NYI 6 PHX 7.

2nd Period
10:07: Coyotes controlled the early stages of the period, but the Islanders have three shots in the last minute, with play stopping after Colin McDonald's slap shot from the right side. Still 2-0 home team. Shots: NYI 13 PHX 15.

11:15: Matt Moulson draws a hooking minor on Mike Ribeiro, and the Islanders head back to the man advantage. They're 1-for-2 so far.

11:47: Islanders are celebrating a goal but the whistle might have blown. Matt Donovan teed off a shot from the top of the zone, and it trickled through Mike Smith, who looked like he had it controlled. They're letting it stand, and it's 3-0 Isles. First career goal for Donovan, with assists to Regin and Josh Bailey.

12:30: Martin Hanzal strikes for Phoenix to make it 3-1. He picked his corner from just above the circles and beat Nabokov glove side. Mikkel Boedker and Keith Yandle set up the goal.

14:49: Islanders make it 4-1 on Tavares' second of the night. He was trying to pass to Grabner, as both players were down low, but the feed went off a Coyotes defenseman's and hopped up over Smith's shoulder.

17:24: Colin McDonald joins the party with his first of the young season. 3-on-2 rush at the blue line, and Frans Nielsen dropped a pass to McDonald, who wristed one through Smith's legs to make it 5-1.

End 2nd: NYI 5 PHX 1. Shots: NYI 19 PHX 24.

3rd Period
1:33: Donovan will take a 2-minute break for roughing. Coyotes are 0-for-1 on the power play.

7:11: Martin Hanzal will sit two minutes for roughing. Isles are 2-for-3, still leading 5-1. Shots: NYI 24 PHX 28.

12:19: The Islanders have had pretty goals in bunches, and there's another. Grabner races down the ice to grab an errant pass behind the Phoenix net. He found Josh Bailey attacking the net head on. Bailey initiated a give-and-go with Nielsen, and by the end of it, Bailey essentially had a tap-in. 6-1 Islanders.

13:11: Lots of animosity on the ensuing shift, and a skirmish results in McDonald and Shane Doan going to the penalty box with matching roughing minors. McDonald also took a slashing penalty, so Phoenix will see some power play time.

13:42: Mikkel Boedker will go for roughing Frans Nielsen. It was a retalliatory hit after Nielsen slashed a Phoenix player. Teams will stay 5-on-4.

17:36: With 2:24 left, Islanders will go on another power play. Ribeiro sits for slashing.

New York Islanders
26 Matt Moulson - 91 John Tavares - 21 Kyle Okposo
12 Josh Bailey - 51 Frans Nielsen - 40 Michael Grabner
29 Brock Nelson - 16 Peter Regin - 96 Pierre-Marc Bouchard
17 Matt Martin - 53 Casey Cizikas - 13 Colin McDonald

47 Andrew MacDonald - 3 Travis Hamonic
14 Thomas Hickey - 11 Lubomir Visnovsky
37 Brian Strait - 46 Matt Donovan

20 Evgeni Nabokov
60 Kevin Poulin

Phoenix Coyotes
28 Lauri Korpikoski - 63 Mike Ribeiro - 19 Shane Doan
89 Mikkel Boedker - 11 Martin Hanzal - 17 Radim Vrbata
22 Lucas Lessio - 50 Antoine Vermette - 18 David Moss
36 Rob Klinkhammer - 24 Kyle Chipchura - 44 Chris Brown

23 Oliver Ekman-Larsson - 4 Zbynek Michalek
3 Keith Yandle - 26 Michael Stone
6 David Schlemko - 2 David Rundblad

41 Mike Smith
1 Thomas Greiss
View More