Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Lee Named Islanders Nominee For King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Award given to player for leadership quality and humanitarian contribution in the community

by Cory Wright WrightsWay / New York Islanders

Anders Lee is the New York Islanders nominee for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, the award given "to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community."

Lee, who scored a career-high 40 goals last season, has made a mark on the Islanders community, notably raising over $110K for pediatric cancer research at his second annual Kancer Jam - a charity Kan Jam tournament - in February. 

Video: Anders Lee Kancer Jam 2018

All 31 NHL teams submit a nominee for the King Clancy and the three finalists will be announced on April 30, while the award will be handed out on June 20 during the 2018 NHL Awards in Las Vegas. Two Islanders have previously won the King Clancy: Doug Weight in 2011 and Bryan Trottier in 1989. 

Below are the nominees from all 31 teams: 

Tweet from @PR_NHL: NHL Announces 31 Team Nominees for 2017-18 King Clancy Memorial Trophy. #NHLAwards

More information on the King Clancy, per the NHL: 

"The nominees were selected by their respective NHL clubs. The winner will be selected by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The King Clancy Memorial Trophy winner will receive a $40,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of the winner's choice and the two runners-up will each receive a $5,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

The three finalists for the 2017-18 King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be announced on Monday, April 30, and the winner will be revealed on Wednesday, June 20, during the 2018 NHL Awards™ presented by Hulu at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The selection committee will apply the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy:

- Investment of time and resources

- Commitment to a particular cause or community

- Creativity of programming

- Use of influence; engagement of others

- Measurement of impact

The NHL Foundation Player Award is being discontinued, and the associated NHL Foundation charitable donation will be provided through the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. From the NHL Foundation Player Award's inception in 1998 through 2017, the National Hockey League and NHL Foundation have donated $500,000 to charities selected by the award's recipients."

View More