Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders


by Staff Writer / New York Islanders
Islanders visit Anaheim

(10:00 p.m. ET, TV: FSNY | Radio: Bloomberg 1130)  The Islanders will try to end their season opening road trip on a good note as they take on the Anaheim Ducks at Arrowhead Pond tonight at 10 pm.

These teams last played each other during the 2003-04 season when the Islanders took the series 2-0-0. In their last meeting, the Islanders won 3-1 March 12, 2004 in Anaheim.

In last night's game, Alexei Yashin scored one goal on eight shots, last accomplishing that shot total on October 27, 2005 against the NY Rangers. Mike Sillinger won 12 of 17 faceoffs and currently ranks 21st in the League in faceoff winning percentage.

The Anaheim Ducks, formerly the Mighty Ducks, have started the season 3-0-0 on solid goaltending and contributions from their offensive leader Teemu Selanne. Ilya Bryzgalov and 2003 Conn Smythe winner Jean-Sebastien Giguere have shared the workload in net, and neither has faltered. Giguere has won two games; his most recent, a 2-0 shutout over St. Louis on Monday. Bryzgalov has been equally impressive, knocking off Phoenix on the road 2-1, Saturday, in his only game.

Up front, Selanne has paced the Ducks in the early going in the point department compiling five in three games. Left wing Chris Kunitz leads the team in goals with three.

Anaheim ranks fifth in the League on the power play and that's partly due to the one-two punch of Chris Pronger and Scott Niedermayer manning the points.


1   Mike Dunham
39 Rick DiPietro

3   Tom Poti 
4   Joel Bouchard
6   Sean Hill
8   Bruno Gervais
24 Radek Martinek
32 Brendan Witt
77 Alexei Zhitnik

7 Trent Hunter
10 Richard Park 
11 Andy Hilbert
12 Chris Simon
15 Jeff Tambellini
16 Mike York
17 Shawn Bates
18 Mike Sillinger
25 Viktor Kozlov
45 Arron Asham
55 Jason Blake
79 Alexei Yashin
81 Miroslav Satan

30 Ilya Bryzgalov 
35 Jean-Sebastien Giguere

18 Ian Moran
21 Sean O'Donnell
23 Francois Beauchemin 
25 Chris Pronger
27 Scott Niedermayer
33 Joe DiPenta 
37 Shane O'Brien 
8 Teemu Selanne
10 Corey Perry
14 Chris Kunitz
15 Ryan Getzlaf
17 Dustin Penner
19 Andy McDonald
22 Todd Marchant
24 Stanislav Chistov 
26 Samuel Pahlsson
29 Todd Fedoruk 
32 Travis Moen 
38 Ryan Shannon
39 Travis Green 
44 Rob Niedermayer 

View More