Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Geico Top 15 Greatest Islanders: 15-13

by Cory Wright / New York Islanders

We asked you to vote on your choice for the greatest player in Islanders history. The votes are in and now is counting down the top 15 players in team history.


Bob Bourne scored 542 points (238 goals, 304 assists) over 12 seasons with the Islanders, ranking eighth in all-time team scoring. Bourne was a member of the Islanders dynasty, one of 16 players to win all four Stanley Cups and led the team in playoff scoring in 1983. He was a reliable secondary scorer, contributing at least 50 points in six seasons, topping out at 76 (35 goals, 41 assists) in the 1980-81 season. Bourne was inducted into the Islanders Hall of Fame on Nov. 25, 2006 and his plaque reads “Speed, skill and character.” The latter captures Bourne’s work off the ice, as his humanitarian work earned him Sports Illustrated’s Sportsman of the Year Award in 1987. One year later, Bourne won the Bill Masterton for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.


Butch Goring made quite an impact in his six seasons with the Islanders. Goring is often credited as being the “final piece of the Islanders’ puzzle” as he was traded to Long Island during the 1979-80 season, helping the Islanders to four straight Stanley Cups. Goring won the Conn Smythe Trophy in the spring of 1981 as playoff MVP, underscoring his importance in the dynasty. He scored 60 points (23 goals, 37 assists) in his best season statistically with the Islanders, coached the team from 1999-2001 and is currently the Islanders color commentator on MSG.


Brent Sutter ranks fifth all-time in Islanders scoring, racking up 610 points (287 goals, 323 assists) in 694 games over 12 seasons. Sutter is a top-10 Islander in games played, goals, assists, points and game-winning goals (37). Sutter may also have the least-talked about 102-point season in NHL history, but the Viking, Alberta, native pulled it off during the 1984-85 season. Sutter was a two-time Stanley Cup champion with the Islanders, hoisting the Cup in 1982 and 1983.

View More