Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Geico Top 15 Greatest Islanders: 12-10

by Cory Wright / New York Islanders

We asked you to vote on your choice for the greatest player in Islanders history. The votes are in and now is counting down the top 15 players in team history.

Ken Morrow holds the distinction of being an Olympic gold medalist, a four-time Stanley Cup champion and the first player in hockey history to win Olympic gold and a Stanley Cup in the same season (1980). A stay-at-home defenseman, Morrow was never a prolific scorer, but rather a clutch scorer, netting three playoff overtime winners. Morrow played his entire career (1980-89) with the Islanders and was inducted into the Islanders Hall of Fame on Dec. 31, 2011. He is currently the Islanders Director of Pro Scouting.

John Tonelli scored at nearly a point-per-game pace throughout his Islanders career, netting 544 points (206 goals, 338 assists) in 594 games. His best statistical season came in 1984-85 when he tallied 100 points (42 goals, 58 assists); he is one of seven players in Islanders history to hit three digits in a season. Tonelli is seventh in Islanders all-time scoring and seventh in all-time playoff scoring, with 83 points (28 goals, 55 assists) in 113 games. Tonelli won four Stanley Cups with the Islanders and is most famous for assisting on Bobby Nystrom’s Cup-clinching goal in the 1980 playoffs. “Tonelli, to Nystrom, he scores!” will live on forever in Islanders’ lore.

Clark Gillies and fourth go hand-in-hand. Gillies is fourth in Islanders all-time scoring with 663 points (304 goals, 359 assists), he’s fourth in all-time playoff scoring with 93 points (47 goals, 46 assists) and he won four Stanley Cups with the Islanders. Gillies was also the fourth-overall pick in the 1974 draft and went to the postseason in all of his 12 years on Long Island. He was the second captain in Islanders history and one of the toughest players to play in his era, racking up 891 penalty minutes. Gillies was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2002 and had his number nine retired by the franchise in December of 1996.3.
View More