Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders


by Staff Writer / New York Islanders

(7:00 p.m. ET, TV: FSN NY 2 (ch.14) | Radio: Bloomberg 1130) After helping the Islanders by defeating Montreal last night, Dany Heatley, Jason Spezza, Daniel Alfredsson and the Ottawa Senators visit the Nassau Coliseum, tonight.

While teams all around the Eastern Conference are assisting the Islanders in their playoff hopes, Long Island's team is going through its most unfortunate string of bad luck at the most inopportune time.

Besides Rick DiPietro sitting out the past two games, the Islanders recently learned Freddy Meyer would be out the rest of the season with a broken finger and Ryan Smyth was unable to skate last night due to a leg injury.

The Islanders recently signed a couple of NHL veterans, who had made their way over to the German Elite League this season - Todd Simpson and Deron Quint. One, or both, could dress tonight.

The injury-depleted Islanders came out Friday night playing sloppy hockey and they paid dearly, surrendering five goals in the first period in a 6-4 loss to the Buffalo Sabres.

A positive the Islanders could take from the game was their success on the power play, which converted three times. Viktor Kozlov also set a career high by notching his 23rd and 24th goals of the season. His 50 points on the season are the most since he tallied 56 in 2002-03 with the Florida Panthers.

Even with the loss, the Islanders didn't lose any ground on the eighth spot. The Montreal Canadiens, who currently occupy it with 84 points - two more than the Islanders - lost to Ottawa 5-2, last night.

After being helped by Ottawa, the Islanders will try to help themselves by taking down the dangerous Senators.

Ottawa picked up its 99th and 100th point last night with their win over Montreal. It's the fourth consecutive year and the sixth time in eight seasons that Ottawa reached the 100-point plateau.

Leading the way on offense is the trio of Heatley, Spezza and Alfredsson. Heatley is first on the team in points with 99, Spezza is second with 82, while Alfredsson is right behind with 81.

The Senators have won four of their past five games and seven of nine. Ray Emery is 6-1-2 in his past nine starts, allowing two goals or less in six of those starts. Emery is 4-0-0 lifetime against the Islanders. Backup, Martin Gerber earned the win in his only start against the Islanders this season on December 5, stopping 24 of 26 shots.

Chris King and Steve Mears have the call on Bloomberg Radio 1130, while Howie Rose and Billy Jaffe can be seen tonight on FSN NY 2.

For those of you not in the Tri-state region, you can catch King and Mears' Bloomberg Radio simulcast on XM Satellite Radio, channel 208.

Click here to find FSN NY 2 in your area.

- 84 points, 4th place, Atlantic Division
Ottawa - 100 points, 2nd place, Northeast Division

- Jason Blake, 39 goals; Mike Sillinger & Tom Poti, 32 assists; Blake & Ryan Smyth, 66 points; Brendan Witt, 127 PIM.
Ottawa - Dany Heatley, 47 goals, 99 points; Daniel Alfredsson, 54 assists; Chris Neil, 159 PIM.

- Power play: 18.0 percent. Penalty killing: 81.1 percent
Ottawa - Power play: 18.1 percent. Penalty killing: 84.6 percent

-Mike Dunham (4-10-3, 3.74, .889); Wade Dubielewicz (0-0-0, 0.87, .967)
Ottawa - Ray Emery (32-15-5, 2.81, .905); Martin Gerber (14-9-3, 2.81, .905)

2006-07 SERIES:
Ottawa - 3-0-0

March 15, 2007 at Scotiabank Place: 5-2 Ottawa win

- 20-12-6 at home
Ottawa - 21-12-5 on the road

1   Mike Dunham
34 Wade Dubielewicz

3   Tom Poti 
6   Sean Hill
14 Chris Campoli
32 Brendan Witt
38 Allan Rourke
47 Marc-Andre Bergeron

7   Trent Hunter
10 Richard Park 
11 Andy Hilbert
15 Jeff Tambellini
18 Mike Sillinger
25 Viktor Kozlov
27 Randy Robitaille
45 Arron Asham
48 Steve Regier
55 Jason Blake
79 Alexei Yashin
81 Miroslav Satan
94 Ryan Smyth

1   Ray Emery 
29 Martin Gerber

4   Chris Phillips
5   Christoph Schubert  
6   Wade Redden  
7   Joe Corvo 
14 Andrej Meszaros 
24 Anton Volchenkov
42 Tom Preissing 

11 Daniel Alfredsson  
12 Mike Fisher
15 Dany Heatley
16 Brian McGrattan
19 Jason Spezza
20 Antoine Vermette
22 Chris Kelly
25 Chris Neil
27 Peter Schaefer
37 Dean McAmmond
44 Patrick Eaves
61 Oleg Saprykin
89 Mike Comrie


View More