Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Devils 3, Sound Tigers 1

by Jamie Palatini / New York Islanders


ALBANY, N.Y. (Dec. 8, 2012) – Albany goaltender Keith Kinkaid made 22 saves and forward Chad Wiseman added a goal and an assist as the Devils defeated the Bridgeport Sound Tigers 3-1 at the Times Union Center on Saturday evening. With the win, the Devils improve to 6-8-0-5. The Sound Tigers winless streak extends to eight games as they fall to 10-11-0-1.

Albany netted the game’s first goal 12:37 into the first period. Devils defenseman Adam Larsson sent a slow wrist shot towards the slot that Joe Whitney deflected past Sound Tigers goaltender Anders Nilsson to give Albany the lead. The two sides combined for just 10 shots in the first period, and the Devils carried their one-goal advantage into the second period.

The Devils increased their lead to two on their second two-man advantage of the game. Chad Wiseman sent a pass through the slot to Bobby Butler at the left circle, and Butler one-timed a blast past Nilsson to make the score 2-0 4:42 into the second period.

Wiseman then pushed the Devils lead to three at 11:31 of the middle frame. Mattias Tedenby sent a shot from the right circle off of the left post, but Wiseman gathered the rebound and scored to give Albany a 3-0 advantage. The Sound Tigers had their best scoring chances late in the period, but Keith Kinkaid made pivotal stops in traffic to keep the Sound Tigers off of the scoreboard through 40 minutes.

The Sound Tigers applied pressure in the final period and finally solved Kinkaid with just over two minutes left in regulation. Nino Niederreiter kept the puck in the Albany zone, skated into the left circle and beat Kinkaid for his 11th goal of the season.

The Sound Tigers return to action tomorrow afternoon at Webster Bank Arena when they host the Syracuse Crunch at 3:00 p.m.

Notes: Anders Nilsson made 22 saves in the loss as the Devils outshot the Sound Tigers 25-22 … Colin McDonald wore the captain’s “C” for the first time after being announced as the eighth captain in team history on Friday.

Bridgeport Sound Tigers

22 Nino Niederreiter – 29 Brock Nelson – 13 Colin McDonald (C)
23 John Persson – 28 Johan Sundstrom – 17 Max MacKay
40 Mike Halmo – 11 Casey Cizikas (A) – 20 Blair Riley
44 Brett Gallant – 14 Matt Watkins (A) – 16 Sean Backman


8 Nathan McIver – 27 Aaron Ness
46 Matt Donovan – 6 Ty Wishart
15 Marc Cantin – 7 Jon Landry


45 Anders Nilsson (starter)
38 Kevin Poulin

View More