FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

Vezina Trophy

The Vezina Trophy is an annual award given to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at this position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs.

Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau, and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1926-27 in memory of Georges Vezina, outstanding goalkeeper of the Canadiens, who collapsed during an NHL game Nov. 28, 1925, and died of tuberculosis a few months later.

Until the 1981-82 season, the goalkeeper(s) of the team allowing the fewest number of goals during the regular season were awarded the Vezina Trophy.

Billy Smith of the New York Islanders was the first winner of the Vezina under the current system.

There have been numerous instances of players receiving the trophy many times in different years, and players tying for the trophy. Jacques Plante holds the record for winning the most Vezinas with seven, trailed by Bill Durnan and Dominik Hasek both of who have won six. Hasek has won the most under the current system of honoring the best individual goalie.

Montreal goaltenders have won the Vezina 28 times. Under the original definition, there would often be multiple winners from the same team during one season. In the 1973–74 NHL season, Tony Esposito of the Chicago Blackhawks and Bernie Parent of the Philadelphia Flyers finished tied for the fewest goals against, the only time that there was a tie between two players from different teams.

The voting is conducted at the end of the regular season, and each individual voter ranks his top three candidates on a 5-3-1 points system. Three finalists are named and the trophy is awarded at the NHL Awards ceremony after the playoffs.

Year Player Team
2015 carey price montreal canadiens
2013 sergei bobrovsky columbus blue jackets
2012 henrik lundqvist new york rangers
2011 Tim Thomas Boston Bruins
2010 Ryan Miller Buffalo Sabres
2009 Tim Thomas Boston Bruins
2008  Martin Brodeur   New Jersey Devils
2007 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
2006 Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary Flames
2004 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
2003 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
2002 Jose Theodore Montreal Canadiens
2001 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
2000 Olaf Kolzig Washington Capitals
1999 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1998 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1997 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1996 Jim Carey Washington Capitals
1995 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1994 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1993 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1992 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1991 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1990 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1989 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1988 Grant Fuhr Edmonton Oilers
1987 Ron Hextall Philadelphia Flyers
1986 John Vanbiesbrouck New York Rangers
1985 Pelle Lindbergh Philadelphia Flyers
1984 Tom Barrasso Buffalo Sabres
1983 Pete Peeters Boston Bruins
1982 Billy Smith New York Islanders
1981 Denis Herron
Michel Larocque
Richard Sevigny
Montreal Canadiens
1980 Don Edwards
Bob Sauve
Buffalo Sabres
1979 Ken Dryden
Michel Larocque
Montreal Canadiens
1978 Ken Dryden
Michel Larocque
Montreal Canadiens
1977 Ken Dryden
Michel Larocque
Montreal Canadiens
1976 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1975 Bernie Parent Philadelphia Flyers
1974 Bernie Parent Philadelphia Flyers
  Tony Esposito Chicago Blackhawks
1973 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1972 Tony Esposito
Gary Smith
Chicago Blackhawks
1971 Ed Giacomin
Gilles Villemure
New York Rangers
1970 Tony Esposito Chicago Blackhawks
1969 Glenn Hall
Jacques Plante
St. Louis Blues
1968 Lorne Worsley
Rogatien Vachon
Montreal Canadiens
1967 Denis DeJordy
Glenn Hall
Chicago Blackhawks
1966 Charlie Hodge
Lorne Worsley
Montreal Canadiens
1965 Johnny Bower
Terry Sawchuk
Toronto Maple Leafs
1964 Charlie Hodge Montreal Canadiens
1963 Glenn Hall Chicago Blackhawks
1962 Jacques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1961 Johnny Bower Toronto Maple Leafs
1960 Jacques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1959 Jacques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1958 Jacques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1957 Jacques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1956 Jacques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1955 Terry Sawchuk Detroit Red Wings
1954 Harry Lumley Toronto Maple Leafs
1953 Terry Sawchuk Detroit Red Wings
1952 Terry Sawchuk Detroit Red Wings
1951 Al Rollins Toronto Maple Leafs
1950 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1949 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1948 Turk Broda Toronto Maple Leafs
1947 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1946 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1945 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1944 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1943 Johnny Mowers Detroit Red Wings
1942 Frank Brimsek Boston Bruins
1941 Turk Broda Toronto Maple Leafs
1940 Dave Kerr New York Rangers
1939 Frank Brimsek Boston Bruins
1938 Tiny Thompson Boston Bruins
1937 Normie Smith Detroit Red Wings
1936 Tiny Thompson Boston Bruins
1935 Lorne Chabot Chicago Blackhawks
1934 Charlie Gardiner Chicago Blackhawks
1933 Tiny Thompson Boston Bruins
1932 Charlie Gardiner Chicago Blackhawks
1931 Roy Worters New York Americans
1930 Tiny Thompson Boston Bruins
1929 George Hainsworth Montreal Canadiens
1928 George Hainsworth Montreal Canadiens
1927 George Hainsworth Montreal Canadiens
Note: awarded to goalie who played a minimum of 25 games for the team that allowed the fewest goals; since 1982, awarded to outstanding goalie.




NHL GameCenter LIVE™ is now NHL.TV™.
Watch out-of-market games and replays with an all new redesigned media player, mobile and connected device apps.


NHL Mobile App

Introducing the new official NHL App, available for iPhone, iPad and Android smartphones and tablets. A host of new features and improved functionality are available across all platforms, including a redesigned league-wide scoreboard, expanded news coverage, searchable video highlights, individual team experiences* and more. The new NHL App on your tablet also introduces new offerings such as 60fps video, Multitasking** and Picture-in-Picture.

*Available only for smartphones
** Available only for suported iPads