FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

James Norris Memorial Trophy

The James Norris Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the defenseman who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.

The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season. The trophy was presented in 1953 by the four children of the late James Norris in memory of the former owner-president of the Detroit Red Wings.

The trophy is named in honour of James E. Norris, owner of the  Detroit Red Wings from 1932 to 1952. The trophy was first awarded at the conclusion of the 1953–54 NHL season.

Bobby Orr of the Boston Bruins won the award for a record eight consecutive seasons (1968–75).

Doug Harvey and Nicklas Lidstrom won it seven times in their careers and Ray Bourque won it five times during his career; between them, those four players have won nearly half the Norris Trophies awarded to date. The Boston Bruins have won the most Norris Trophies with 14. The Montreal Canadiens are second with 12.

The voting is conducted at the end of the regular season, and each individual voter ranks their top five candidates on a 10–7–5–3–1 points system. Three finalists are named and the trophy is awarded at the NHL awards ceremony after the conclusion of the playoffs.

Year Player Team
2015 erik karlsson ottawa senators
2013 p.k. subban montreal canadiens
2012 erik karlsson ottawa senators
2011 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2010 Duncan Keith Chicago Blackhawks
2009 Zdeno Chara Boston Bruins
 2008  Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2007 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2006 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2004 Scott Niedermayer New Jersey Devils
2003 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2002 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2001 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2000 Chris Pronger St. Louis Blues
1999 Al MacInnis St. Louis Blues
1998 Rob Blake Los Angeles Kings
1997 Brian Leetch New York Rangers
1996 Chris Chelios Chicago Blackhawks
1995 Paul Coffey Detroit Red Wings
1994 Ray Bourque Boston Bruins
1993 Chris Chelios Chicago Blackhawks
1992 Brian Leetch New York Rangers
1991 Ray Bourque Boston Bruins
1990 Ray Bourque Boston Bruins
1989 Chris Chelios Montreal Canadiens
1988 Ray Bourque Boston Bruins
1987 Ray Bourque Boston Bruins
1986 Paul Coffey Edmonton Oilers
1985 Paul Coffey Edmonton Oilers
1984 Rod Langway Washington Capitals
1983 Rod Langway Washington Capitals
1982 Doug Wilson Chicago Blackhawks
1981 Randy Carlyle Pittsburgh Penguins
1980 Larry Robinson Montreal Canadiens
1979 Denis Potvin New York Islanders
1978 Denis Potvin New York Islanders
1977 Larry Robinson Montreal Canadiens
1976 Denis Potvin New York Islanders
1975 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1974 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1973 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1972 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1971 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1970 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1969 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1968 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1967 Harry Howell New York Rangers
1966 Jacques Laperriere Montreal Canadiens
1965 Pierre Pilote Chicago Blackhawks
1964 Pierre Pilote Chicago Blackhawks
1963 Pierre Pilote Chicago Blackhawks
1962 Doug Harvey New York Rangers
1961 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1960 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1959 Tom Johnson Montreal Canadiens
1958 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1957 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1956 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1955 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1954 Red Kelly Detroit Red Wings


NHL GameCenter LIVE™ is now NHL.TV™.
Watch out-of-market games and replays with an all new redesigned media player, mobile and connected device apps.


NHL Mobile App

Introducing the new official NHL App, available for iPhone, iPad and Android smartphones and tablets. A host of new features and improved functionality are available across all platforms, including a redesigned league-wide scoreboard, expanded news coverage, searchable video highlights, individual team experiences* and more. The new NHL App on your tablet also introduces new offerings such as 60fps video, Multitasking** and Picture-in-Picture.

*Available only for smartphones
** Available only for suported iPads