Bruins' Rask wins his first Vezina Trophy

Tuesday, 06.24.2014 / 8:48 PM / 2014 NHL Awards
Share with your Friends

Bruins' Rask wins his first Vezina Trophy
Tuukka Rask of the Boston Bruins has captured his first Vezina Trophy.

2013-14 Vezina Trophy Voting -- Top 10

Player Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd)
Rask, BOS 103 (16-6-5)
Varlamov, COL 90 (9-13-6)
Bishop, TBL 32 (1-6-9)
Price, MTL 26 (2-3-7)
Quick, LAK 9 (1-1-1)
Lundqvist, NYR 5 (1-0-0)
Mason, PHI 3 (0-1-0)
Bobrovsky, CBJ 1 (0-0-1)
Lehtonen, DAL 1 (0-0-1)

Tuukka Rask of the Boston Bruins has captured his first Vezina Trophy, awarded to the "goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position," as selected by NHL General Managers. Prior to 1981-82, the Vezina was awarded to the goaltender(s) whose team allowed the fewest goals during the regular season, the current criterion for the William Jennings Trophy.

Rask was the top choice for 16 of the 30 General Managers and received 103 voting points to edge second-place Semyon Varlamov of the Colorado Avalanche (9 first-place votes, 90 points). Rask's win marks the third time in the past six seasons that a Bruins netminder has taken Vezina honors, following first-place finishes by Tim Thomas in 2009 and 2011.

Rask posted a 36-15-6 record, highlighted by a career-best 10-game point streak from Mar. 20-30 (9-0-1), as the Bruins captured their first Presidents’ Trophy since 1990 and led the Eastern Conference in team defense (2.08 GA/game). He allowed two goals or fewer in 37 of 58 starts, set single-season highs in wins and appearances, and was the only goaltender to rank among the NHL’s top five in each of the major statistical categories: first in shutouts (seven), second in save percentage (.930), fourth in goals-against average (2.04) and fifth in wins.