Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Carolina Hurricanes

Williams Selected as Chiasson Award Winner

Hurricanes team award recognizes determination and dedication

by Canes PR @NHLCanes / Carolina Hurricanes News Release

RALEIGH, NC - The Carolina Hurricanes today announced that captain Justin Williams has been selected by his teammates as the winner of the 2018-19 Steve Chiasson Award. The Steve Chiasson Award is given annually to the Hurricanes player that best exemplifies determination and dedication while proving to be an inspiration to his teammates through his performance and approach to the game.

Williams, 37, has registered 52 points (23g, 29a) in 80 games with the Hurricanes this season. The 6'1", 184-pound right wing leads the team in power-play goals (9), ranks second in goals and third in assists and points. Williams ranks fifth among active NHL players in career games played (1,242) and ranks second among players selected in the 2000 NHL Draft in games played (Scott Hartnell: 1,249). Since his 30th birthday (10/4/2011), Williams has played in 617 of a possible 620 games and is the oldest player in the NHL this season to score 20 goals and record 50 points. In addition, he is the oldest forward in the NHL to average at least 17:00 of ice time in 2018-19. The Cobourg, Ont., native has earned 304 points (120g, 184a) in 427 career games with Carolina and ranks seventh in goals and assists and ninth in points in team history (since relocation). Williams has registered 785 points (312g, 473a) in 1,242 career NHL games with Carolina, Washington, Los Angeles and Philadelphia.

Steve Chiasson Award Winners

  • 2018-19: Justin Williams
  • 2017-18: Jordan Staal
  • 2016-17: Bryan Bickell
  • 2015-16: Jay McClement
  • 2014-15: Jordan Staal
  • 2013-14: Manny Malhotra
  • 2012-13: Tim Gleason
  • 2011-12: Eric Staal
  • 2010-11: Tim Gleason
  • 2009-10: Rod Brind'Amour
  • 2008-09: Rod Brind'Amour
  • 2007-08: Bret Hedican
  • 2006-07: Rod Brind'Amour
  • 2005-06: Rod Brind'Amour
  • 2003-04: Sean Hill
  • 2002-03: Kevyn Adams
  • 2001-02: Ron Francis
  • 2000-01: Rod Brind'Amour
  • 1999-00: Sean Hill
View More