Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Carolina Hurricanes

Hurricanes Protection List for Expansion Draft Revealed

Team protects seven forwards, three defensemen and a goalie

by Michael Smith @MSmithCanes /

The Vegas Golden Knights are one step closer to assembling a team, as the protected lists for the upcoming NHL Expansion Draft have been distributed.

Of the options to protect eight skaters and a goaltender or seven forwards, three defenseman and one goaltender, the Carolina Hurricanes chose the latter. The team's protected list is as follows.


  • Phil Di Giuseppe
  • Elias Lindholm
  • Brock McGinn
  • Victor Rask
  • Jeff Skinner
  • Jordan Staal
  • Teuvo Teravainen


  • Trevor Carrick
  • Justin Faulk
  • Ryan Murphy


  • Scott Darling

A number of players - Sebastian Aho, Noah Hanifin, Brett Pesce and Jaccob Slavin among them - were exempt from Expansion Draft exposure due to being first- or second-year pros. Yet unsigned draft picks were also exempt.

That means that the following Hurricanes players have been exposed for potential selection in the Expansion Draft.


  • Bryan Bickell (UFA)
  • Connor Brickley (UFA)
  • Patrick Brown (UFA)
  • Erik Karlsson (RFA)
  • Danny Kristo (UFA)
  • Jay McClement (UFA)
  • Andrew Miller
  • Andrej Nestrasil (RFA)
  • Joakim Nordstrom
  • Lee Stempniak
  • Brendan Woods (UFA)


  • Klas Dahlbeck
  • Dennis Robertson (UFA)
  • Philip Samuelsson (UFA)
  • Matt Tennyson (UFA)


  • Daniel Altshuller (RFA)
  • Eddie Lack
  • Michael Leighton (UFA)
  • Cam Ward

The Vegas Golden Knights will select one player from each team for a total of 30 players, meaning one of the players listed above will no longer be a member of the Canes next season. Vegas' selections must include 14 forwards, nine defensemen and three goaltenders. The Golden Knights have until Wednesday, June 21 at 10 a.m. EST to make and submit their selections, and the full roster will be revealed in conjunction with the NHL Awards on Wednesday, June 21 at 8 p.m. EST.

View More