Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Carolina Hurricanes

Canes to Open 2008-09 Season at Home Against Florida

by Terrell Williams / Carolina Hurricanes

RALEIGH, NC—The National Hockey League today announced that the Carolina Hurricanes will open their 2008-09 season at the RBC Center on Friday, Oct. 10, against the Southeast Division rival Florida Panthers. The league announced the home openers for each of its 30 member clubs, and is slated to announce each team’s complete 2008-09 schedule on Thursday, July 17. 

Along with announcing each team’s opener, the NHL also announced each clubs’s “wildcard” opponents. The Hurricanes will face its divisional opponents – Atlanta, Florida, Tampa Bay and Washington – six times during the season, and its non-divisional conference opponents four times. Carolina will also play every Western Conference team at least once, and will play home-and-home sets with three “wildcard” Western Conference teams – the Anaheim Ducks, Phoenix Coyotes and St. Louis Blues.

View More