Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Carolina Hurricanes

Canes Qualify Rask, Six Others

by Michael Smith / Carolina Hurricanes
The Carolina Hurricanes today extended qualifying offers to forwards Patrick Brown, Victor Rask, Brody Sutter and Brendan Woods and defensemen Keegan Lowe, Ryan Murphy and Dennis Robertson, retaining their restricted free agent statuses.

Rask headlines the Canes’ group of RFAs. The 23-year-old year forward completed his sophomore season with the Canes, crossing the 20-goal threshold and ranking third on the team in scoring with 48 points (21g, 27a). Among the six other players qualified, five have NHL experience. Murphy has accrued the most with 124 games played over four seasons; the 23-year-old defenseman, a 12th overall pick of the Canes in 2011, skated in 35 games with the big club in 2015-16 and tallied 10 assists.

Forwards Zach Boychuk, Anthony Camara, Dane Fox, Carter Sandlak and Justin Shugg, defensemen Danny Biega, Michal Jordan and Rasmus Rissanen and goaltender Rasmus Tirronen were not tendered qualifying offers and will become unrestricted free agents on Friday, July 1. Rissanen signed a two-year contract with Jokerit of the KHL on May 2.

The following players are also unrestricted free agents: forwards Nathan Gerbe, T.J. Hensick, Brad Malone, Riley Nash and Chris Terry.

The Hurricanes have already signed a trio of players, extending Joakim Nordstrom for two years and retaining Derek Ryan for one year and Cam Ward for two years.

Keep tabs on all Hurricanes movement this offseason with our player tracker, and get a visual look at players under contract with the organization with our contract chart.

Michael Smith
MICHAEL SMITH is the Web Producer for the Carolina Hurricanes.

Email | Archive

View More