Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

The Award Goes to...

The Philadelphia Flyers presented their 2017-18 end-of-season awards on Thursday prior to their game against the Carolina Hurricanes at the Wells Fargo Center.

by @NHLFlyers

Bobby Clarke Trophy (Most Valuable Player) - Claude Giroux

Claude Giroux won his fifth Bobby Clarke Trophy as the team's most valuable player, as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters. It's a franchise record since the award's inception in 1985, surpassing the four won by Eric Lindros. Giroux entered Thursday's game with 30 goals and 67 assists for 97 points, all of which are career highs. It's jumped him from 10th to 5th on the Flyers all-time scoring list, and he needs two assists to pass Bill Barber for third all-time in franchise history in the assists category. Giroux represented the Flyers at the 2018 NHL All-Star Weekend in Tampa, making his fifth career All-Star appearance and third in the last four years, and was the NHL's First Star for the week ending February 11. From the start of that week (Feb. 5) until now, Giroux has 15 goals and 24 assists for 39 points in 28 games.

Barry Ashbee Trophy (Outstanding Defenseman) - Shayne Gostisbehere

Shayne Gostisbehere received the Barry Ashbee Trophy as the team's outstanding defenseman, as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters. It's his second award, having previously won it as a rookie in 2015-16 when he became the youngest player in franchise history to receive the honor at the time; that record was eclipsed last year by Ivan Provorov.

Gostisbehere enters tonight's NHL schedule tied for fourth in the NHL in scoring by a defenseman with 13 goals and 49 assists for 62 points. The 49 assists are tied with Garry Galley for the third-most in a season by a defenseman in franchise history. Gostisbehere started the season with 10 assists in the first six games and recorded his 100th career point with an assist Nov. 9 vs. CHI; by doing so in his 155th career game, he became the fastest D in Flyers history to his first 100 career points. He's a plus-7 entering tonight's game, which is a 28-point turnaround from last year in that category.


Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy (Most Improved Player) - Sean Couturier

Sean Couturier was selected by his teammates as the Flyers' most improved player from the previous season. Couturier has more than doubled his scoring totals from a year ago, going from 14-20-34 to 31-41-71 entering tonight's games. He is only the fifth Flyer in franchise history to double his point total from one full season to the next when having at least 30 points in the first season. Couturier enters tonight's game having posted 19 multi-point games, including five three-point games and six two-goal games, after only posting three two-goal games and three three-point games in his career prior to this season. He needed only 41 games, exactly half a season, to eclipse his previous career high of 39 points. Couturier is also a plus-28 entering tonight's game with two games to go; the Flyers haven't had anyone finish a season with a higher rating since 2010-11, and haven't had a forward finish that high since 2005-06.


Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award - Sean Couturier

The Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) selected Sean Couturier as this year's recipient of the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award. This award is presented annually to the Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport both on and off the ice. The award honors the memory of Yanick Dupre, who died on August 16, 1997 at the age of 24 after a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre played parts of three seasons with the Flyers (1991-92, 1994-95 and 1995-96), recording two goals and 16 penalty minutes in 35 games. He was originally drafted by the Flyers in the third round (50th overall) of the 1991 NHL Entry Draft.


Gene Hart Memorial Award - Sean Couturier

The Philadelphia Flyers Fan Club selected Sean Couturier as the winner of the Gene Hart Memorial Award. This award is given to the player who demonstrated the most "Heart" during the season as voted on by members of the Fan Club at their monthly meetings. The award honors the memory of longtime Flyers broadcaster Gene Hart. For 28 years, Hart called the organization's most thrilling moments, and in the process, helped spawn generations of devoted fans. Hart's contributions to the sport were recognized with his induction into the Flyers Hall of Fame in 1992 and the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997. The Flyers Fan Club will also donate $1,000 to the charity of Couturier's choice.

Toyota Cup - Claude Giroux

Claude Giroux won the Toyota Cup for the sixth time in the last seven years as the Flyer who accumulated the most points associated with being selected as a "Star of the Game." Five points were awarded for being selected First Star, three points were awarded for a Second Star performance and one point was awarded for a Third Star selection. Giroux was named first star nine times this year, second star eight times, and third star five times for a total of 74 points. Toyota will make a $5,000 donation to The Claude Giroux Foundation.

View More