Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

That's a Record!

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers

At the 8:32 mark of the second period Ilya Bryzgalov set a new Philadelphia Flyers record for consecutive shutout minutes with 227:41, surpassing the previous mark set by John Vanbiesbrouck during the 1999-2000 season from Oct. 17-26 when allowed no goals in 227:40.

At the time in which he broke the record, Bryzgalov stopped 105 consecutive shots from the time he gave up a goal to Detroit Red Wings' forward Johan Franzen at the 8:47 mark of the third period through two periods of play in of Thursday's Flyers-Islanders game.

Bryz even had to make a save with under one minute to go on Michael Grabner coming down the right wing and snapping a shot low glove side.

The Flyers also killed off back-to-back power plays by the Islanders with under six minutes to go in the second period.

The streak wouldn't last however.

Islanders' forward Michael Grabner scored with 6:30 left in the third period to end Bryzgalov's streak at 249:43 and a total of 112 consecutive shots.

Per the Elias Sports Bureau, Ilya Bryzgalov’s 249:43 goalless streak was the second-longest by any goaltender in the NHL’s expansion era (1967–68 to date), behind the 332:01 run posted by the Coyotes’ Brian Boucher in 2003–04, when he set a “modern” league record with five consecutive shutouts.

View More