Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

PSWA Honors Jakub Voracek

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers
The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association (PSWA) announced today that Jake Voracek, who was the Bobby Clarke Trophy recipient as team MVP and NHL All-Star in 2014-15, will add another honor when he accepts the city’s Outstanding Pro Athlete of the Year Award.

Voracek will be among many other honored athletes Feb. 1 for the 112th annual PSWA dinner held at the Crowne Plaza in Cherry Hill.  After the dinner, Voracek will sign autographs for no charge.

“To be picked out of the four main sports in Philadelphia, it’s a tremendous honor,” said Voracek, who will be saluted for his sensational 2014-15 season. “There’s so many good athletes in the city. When I came over four years ago, I would never have thought I would accomplish something like this. I couldn’t do it without my teammates; they deserve credit.”

Voracek has become a Flyers fixture since arriving in 2011.  Last season, he led the team in points (82) and assists (59), playing in all 82 regular season games. His assist total was second in the league and his point total was fourth.  The right winger added to his impressive year by collecting the Bobby Clarke Trophy for the second time in three seasons, and he was selected for his first NHL All-Star Game.

  WATCH: Voracek & White visit St. Christopher's

Other notable achievements last season included 10 multi-point performances over the first 19 games (only the sixth Flyer to ever do that) and a career-high 10-game scoring streak.

This year’s PSWA dinner will be another star-studded event as Carli Lloyd of Delran, N.J., the star of the United States’ World Cup champion women’s soccer team, will be honored, along with many pro and collegiate athletes. (Lloyd will also sign autographs after the banquet.) Comic Joe Conklin will lighten things up with his Philly sports observations, and Michael Barkann of CSN and WIP will serve as the dinner’s emcee.

The banquet’s signature event is the naming of the Most Courageous Athlete; the honor is kept a secret until it is presented at the end of the evening.

The annual PSWA dinner started in 1904, and some its past honorees include Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Stan Musial, Reggie Jackson, Joe DiMaggio, Muhammad Ali, Robin Roberts, Wilt Chamberlain, Julius Erving, Chuck Bednarik, Brad Lidge, Cole Hamels, Cathy Rush, Lloyd, and Elena Delle Donne.

Tickets are available to the general public for $95 at Discounts are offered for those who purchase a table of 12 tickets, and proceeds from the banquet go to the PSWA’s official charity, the Adam Taliaferro Foundation.
View More