Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

Laperriere wins Masterton

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers
The National Hockey League announced tonight at its annual Awards Show that Philadelphia Flyers forward Ian Laperriere has been awarded the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, which is awarded “to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.”

“It’s been a tough year, I won’t lie to you,” said Laperriere in accepting the Trophy. “Playing hockey is my life and if it weren’t for the Flyers and Mr. [Ed] Snider, Paul Holmgren, Chris Pryor, Zack Hill and Jim McCrossin it would have been a really really tough year, but they helped me through it. They kept me in the game to help the young guys, so thank you very much.”

Laperriere becomes the third Flyer to win the Masterton and first since Tim Kerr for the 1988-89 season. Bobby Clarke also won the Masterton for the 1971-72 season.

Laperriere also becomes the first Flyer to win a major NHL award since goaltenders Robert Esche & Roman Cechmanek won the William M. Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders in the regular season with the combined lowest goals-against-average in 2002-03.

Award Acceptance | Post Award Interview
View More