Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

Hextall to be Inducted Into Flyers Hall of Fame

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers
Ron Hextall (Getty Images)

Ron Hextall will become the 19th member of the organization to be inducted into the Flyers Hall of Fame during an on-ice ceremony at the Wachovia Center on Wednesday, February 6, prior to the club’s 7:00 p.m. contest against the Washington Capitals.

To see the announcement that ran in-game on Dec. 11, which includes a special message from Hextall, click here.

Hextall, 43, appeared in 489 regular season games during his 11-year Flyers career (1986-87 through 1991-92 and 1994-95 through 1998-99 seasons), posting a 240-172-58 record and 2.91 goals-against average. His 489 games played and 240 wins as a Flyer rank him first all-time in Flyers history. In 84 playoff games for the Flyers, Hextall registered a 45-36 record and 2.95 GAA. His 45 playoff wins are the most in Flyers history.

The Flyers Hall of Fame was established in 1988 to permanently honor those individuals who have contributed to the franchise’s success. The Hall of Fame induction is held, as needed, with candidates nominated and voted upon by a panel of media members and team officials.

The following people have been previously elected into the Flyers Hall of Fame:

1988 - Bob Clarke and Bernie Parent
1989 - Bill Barber, Ed Snider and Keith Allen
1990 - Rick MacLeish and Fred Shero
1991 - Barry Ashbee and Gary Dornhoefer
1992 - Reggie Leach and Gene Hart
1993 - Joe Scott and Ed Van Impe
1994 - Tim Kerr
1996 - Joe Watson
1999 - Brian Propp
2001 - Mark Howe
2004 - Dave Poulin
View More