Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

Gagne, Hatcher and Eager Capture Team Awards

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers
(Philadelphia, PA, April 7) - In a ceremony prior to Saturday's Flyers-New York Islanders game at the Wachovia Center, the Philadelphia Flyers announced the winners of the team's 2006-07 awards - the Bobby Clarke Trophy for most valuable player, the Barry Ashbee Trophy for most outstanding defenseman and the Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy for most improved player from the previous season.

Simon Gagne has won the Bobby Clarke Trophy as the team's most valuable player, as selected by a panel of sportscasters and sportswriters, for the second consecutive season. Gagne has recorded 39 goals and 26 assists for 65 points and 30 penalty minutes in 74 games for the Flyers this season. He is first on the team in goals(39, tied for 10th in the NHL), points (65), power play goals (12) and shots (282, 13th in the NHL).

Derian Hatcher was the winner of the Barry Ashbee Trophy as the team's most outstanding defenseman, as voted by a panel of sportscasters and sportswriters. Hatcher has recorded three goals and five assists for eight points and 67 penalty minutes in 80 games this season. He leads the team in hits (176) and blocked shots (160) and is the only Flyer to play in all 80 games this season.

Ben Eager won the Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy as the Flyer who has most improved from the previous season, as voted by his teammates. In his first full season with the Flyers, he has posted 11 points (6G,5A) and 207 penalty minutes in 61 games. He leads the NHL in penalty minutes with 207.

In addition, Sami Kapanen was awarded the first Gene Hart Memorial Award by the Flyers fan club as the player who has the most heart; Mike Knuble won the Yanick Dupre class guy award from the local media; and Gagne took home the Toyota Cup for most "Star of the Game" selections.
View More