Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

30th Annual Flyers Cup Preview

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers
The Flyers Cup is an annual high school hockey tournament sponsored by the Philadelphia Flyers. The invitational tournament has a total of 52 teams competing for the championships in four different divisions based on school size (“Girls”, “A”, “AA”, and “AAA”). Those 52 teams come from the following leagues: the Central Pennsylvania Interscholastic Hockey League, the Eastern High School Hockey League, the Inter-County Scholastic Hockey League, the Lehigh Valley Scholastic Hockey League, the Lower Bucks County Scholastic Hockey League, the South Jersey High School Ice Hockey League, and the Suburban High School Hockey League. Games will be played at 11 rinks throughout the area including Ice Line (West Chester, PA), Hatfield Ice (Colmar, PA), Grundy Recreation Center (Bristol, PA), Polonia Bank Flyers Skate Zone at N.E. Philadelphia (Philadelphia, PA), Virtua Center Flyers Skate Zone at Voorhees (Voorhees, NJ), The Skatium (Havertown, PA), Ice Works (Aston, PA), Face-Off Circle (Warminster, PA), Warwick Ice Arena (Warminster, PA), Twin Ponds East (Harrisburg, PA), and Bethlehem Steel Ice Center (Bethlehem, PA). The champions of each division “A”, “AA”, and “AAA” will move on to face the winners of Western Pennsylvania’s Penguins Cup for the Pennsylvania State Championships, set for March 28th at Ice Line in West Chester, PA.

Flyers Cup 2009 begins on March 9th with six games on the schedule and then the bulk of the games are on March 11th with 12 games scheduled across the Delaware Valley. For the first time in Flyers Cup history there will be a Girls Division championship, in addition to the three boys’ titles that are up for grabs. All four finals will be held on March 21st at the Wachovia Spectrum. The “AAA” game will be televised live on the Comcast Network with Comcast SportsNet’s Steve Coates providing color commentary alongside play-by-play man Steve Degler. This is the final year of the historic Spectrum, which has played host to numerous Flyers Cup Finals. There will be many activities and features in and around the concourse at the Wachovia Spectrum all day, including several celebrity appearances. Members of the Delta Dental Ice Team and Phantom Patrol will be on hand to slingshot t-shirts during intermissions. Daily Flyers Cup updates will be available by logging on to

The Flyers Cup Finals Schedule:

“Girls” Final- March 21st at 8:30am at Wachovia Spectrum
“A” Final- March 21st at 10:30am at Wachovia Spectrum
“AA” Final- March 21st at 12:45pm at Wachovia Spectrum
“AAA” Final- March 21st at 3:00pm at Wachovia Spectrum

“AAA Preview”

In “AAA”, La Salle (Ranked #1) enters the tournament as the top seed for the third year in a row and defending Flyers Cup champions. La Salle has been dominating once again posting a 12-0-4 record in “AAA” competition (22-9-5 overall). La Salle has a couple of standout sophomores who have stepped up into big roles with the team. Led by the #1 goalie in “AAA” Gabe Antoni (1.69 GAA) and forward Nick Cruice (13 goals and 25 assists), La Salle is tournament tested and will look to make it a repeat. Holy Ghost Prep (ranked#2) has a 19-8-4 overall record (12-4-2 in “AAA” Division) and their offense is led by junior Thomas Seravalli, who has 17 goals and 10 assists, and senior Robert Hoffman (8 goals and 14 assists). Both players will be counted on again to lead their team back to the finals. Senior forward Steven Meade has led Father Judge (ranked #3) to a 10-4-4 record in “AAA” and leads his team in goals, assists, and points, while sophomore Matt Petitti has been solid posting a 2.95 goals against average and logging every minute in net for the second consecutive year.

“AA Preview”

Conestoga (ranked #2) with a 16-1-1 record will try to defend their title against 19 other teams vying for a chance to call themselves champions. The Pioneers will look to match last year’s thrilling championship run that ended with an exciting final that went to triple overtime. Conestoga is led by the Masciantonio brothers Vince and Richard who are tied for first in points in the “AA” division. Vince Masciantonio has 25 goals and 29 assists while Richard Masciantonio (who scored the triple overtime winner last year) has 20 goals and 34 assists, look to finish off their senior year as repeat champions. Pennsbury enters the tournament as the top seed for the second year in a row with a record of 19-3-2, and looking to avenge their second round exit from last year’s tournament. Led by forwards Ian Barnes (16 goals and 22 assists) and Matt Mager (16 goals and 21 assists), and strong goaltending from Corey Chapin, Pennsbury looks ready for a long run this year. North Penn (ranked #3) enters with a 21-4-1 record. Teams will need to focus on North Penn’s big three of Tyler Gjurich, Tom McDaniel, and Anthony Mancino, who have scored a combined 82 goals this season, while also worrying about senior Brennan Ballard who has been on fire the second half of the season.

“A Preview”

West Chester East (9-6-1 overall), is looking for a repeat Cinderella story against 19 evenly match teams vying for the Cup. West Chester East won the title last year as a nine seed and as a seventh seed this year will need experience on their side to get back to the finals. The Vikings will be counting on goaltender Dave Donzanti (3.27 GAA) and forward Andrew Lamont (10 goals and 9 assists) for another magical run to the Flyers Cup. West Chester Bayard Rustin (ranked #1) is 15-1 overall and looking to build off last year’s final appearance. Bayard Rustin will rely on goaltender Philipp Allmaier who leads the “A” division with a 1.07 goals against average and senior forward William Gaffney who leads the “A” division in points with 19 goals and 16 assists. The Knights are built to win the Cup now. West Chester Henderson (ranked #2) 12-4 overall are poised to a make a run this season. The 2007 Flyers Cup winners are led by senior forward Billy Latta (17 goals and 11 assists) and junior goaltender Robert Mattern (2.10 GAA), and are looking to get back to their championship form.

50 Teams competing for the Flyers Cup

“AAA” Division

1. La Salle*
2. Holy Ghost Prep
3. Father Judge
4. Cardinal O’Hara
5. Archbishop Ryan
6. St. Joseph’s Prep
7. Malvern Prep
8. Germantown Academy
9. Roman Catholic
10. Monsignor Bonner

“AA” Division

1. Pennsbury
2. Conestoga*
3. North Penn
4. Council Rock South
5. Downingtown East
6. Haverford High
7. Methacton
8. Central Bucks East
9. Washington Township
10. Cherokee
11. Perkiomen Valley
12. Council Rock North
13. Neshaminy
14. Rancocas Valley
15. Souderton
16. Parkland
17. William Tennent
18. Central Dauphin
19. Avon Grove
20. Central Bucks South
“A” Division

1. Bayard Rustin
2. West Chester Henderson
3. Hershey
4. Archbishop Wood
5. Moorestown
6. Shawnee
7. West Chester East*
8. Marple Newtown
9. Lower Dauphin
10. Springfield (Delco)
11. Plymouth-Whitemarsh
12. Unionville
13. Wissahickon
14. Bishop McDevitt
15. Cinnaminson
16. Timber Creek
17. Kennett
18. Strath Haven
19. Clearview
20. Penncrest

* Denotes last year’s winners

View More